Scotland announce squad for Afghanistan series

Scotland will play two-match ODI series against Afghanistan, which is set to start on May 8.


Scotland have announced 14-man squad for the upcoming two-match ODI series against Afghanistan where uncapped Gavin Main has also been included.

Also Read - Gayle reveals one of the best openers in cricket

Tom Sole, Brad Wheal, Gavin Main and Michael Jones have also been added to the squad  that featured in Scotland’s first ever tour to Oman in February. Meanwhile, Stu Whittingham, Adrian Neill and Ruaidhri Smith are left out due to injuries.

Scotland head coach Shane Burger said

“We are excited to bring our white-ball game back to Edinburgh for the first time since June 2018. The squad is raring to go having wintered well and recorded series wins in Oman against quality opposition.”

“We certainly go into the series with a lot of confidence and we are ready to face the challenge of a strong Afghanistan unit. We feel we are covered in all departments and fans can expect a positive brand of cricket from the team ahead of an important year of cricket. We unfortunately lose a couple of players from the Oman tour due to injury, but feel we bring a strong squad to The Grange on 8th and 10th May,” he added.

SQUAD: Kyle Coetzer (captain), Richie Berrington, Matthew Cross, Alasdair Evans, Michael Jones, Michael Leask, Calum MacLeod, Gavin Main, George Munsey, Safyaan Sharif, Tom Sole, Craig Wallace, Mark Watt, Brad Wheal.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.
Tweet 20

Related Articles

Gatkate called up as Ireland name squad for Afghanistan T20Is

Shapoor Zadran back in Afghan squad for Ireland T20Is

Watch: Noor Ahmed mankads Huraira in U19 World Cup match

Video: Warner reacts after seeing his IPL teammate Rashid Khan at MCG

Ireland cancel Afghanistan T20Is