Seven cricketers including Ian Smith awarded Bert Sutcliffe Medal

Former New Zealand wicketkeeper and current commentator Ian Smith has been awarded by the New Zealand Cricket Board (NZC) for his outstanding contribution to cricket. He has been awarded the prestigious Bert Sutcliffe Medal for the 2019-20 season.

Seven cricketers including Ian Smith awarded Bert Sutcliffe Medal

New Zealand is virtually arranging award ceremony due to coronavirus crisis. On its first day, Ian Smith and six others received the award. They are Walter Hadlee, Merv Wallace, John Reid, Graham Dowling, Richard Hadlee and Ewen Chatfield.

Also Read - Nehra doesn't think Dhoni will play for India again

Ian Smith has become emotional after receiving this prestigious award. He dedicated the award to his wife Louise. In his speech, he remembers his cricket career and later various events in the commentary room.

“I’m really grateful (for receiving this award),” Ian said.

“I am emotional to see my name in the list of great cricketers who have received this award before. The playing aspect was the realisation of a dream. Whether it’s keeping in Sir Richard Hadlee’s bowling or batting with Martin Crowe, other cricketers have contributed as well.

“I enjoyed every moment of Test cricket (in the commentary room),” he said, referring to his commentary life. “I will always remember Brendon McCullum’s 300-run innings. Lord’s, Test wins at Hobart, Ross Taylor’s 290, eventful draw with England at Eden Park and of course the final match at Lord’s last year.

“I dedicate this award to my wife Louise. Anyone involved with cricket and touring knows it needs a solid foundation to do it. Louise has always given it to me. It’s been a great journey and I wouldn’t trade it for a second.”

The names of the best players in domestic cricket have also been announced on the first day of the New Zealand Cricket Board Awards. Sophie Devine in women’s cricket and Devon Conway in men’s cricket won the award. The International Cricket Awards will be announced on Thursday and Friday.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Not mentioning Shakib and me is insulting: Manoj Tiwari

Cummins thanks McCullum and rest of staff for KKR contract

Shakib in best T20 XI of all time, Kohli named as captain

McCullum wants NZ team in Big Bash League

McCullum’s life changing 158-run destructive innings in IPL 2008