Seven new tales of IPL 2018

The Indian Premier League stepped into its’ eleventh season; this year the effect is altogether anew in the biggest bonanza of domestic T20 competition on earth.

IPL 11 kicks off in MI-CSK El Classico

There are five new rules and changes that will effect from the ongoing edition.

Also Read - When Bravo's bravery stun the defending champions-IPL 2018 begins

Decision Review System (DRS)

For the first time in the history of the Indian Premier League, the 2018 edition has come with the use of Decision Review System (DRS).

The DRS will feature Hawk Eye created Ultra Edge and increased the frame rates per second. In IPL 2018, each team will get one review per innings; along with that, the third umpire will have access to both ball-tracking and Ultra Edge.

Mid-season transfers

Likewise the European league football system, IPL 2018 has introduced the mid-season transfers.

A short five day transfer window has been opened only for uncapped cricketers and those who will play not more than two matches by the time the transfer window will be available half way through the tournament.

According to some media reports, “The transfer will take place between match No 28 to 42 and the transfer window will be open for roughly five days.”

Television broadcasting

There is a change in the television broadcasting as well for the Vivo Indian Premier League 2018. In September, Star India bagged the ‘Global Media Rights’ of IPL for a period of five years (2018-2023) for Rs 16,347.50 crore. The previous rights were held by Sony Pictures Network (SPN) since the beginning in 2008 till 2017.

The new broadcasting contracts allows Star Sports to telecast all the IPL matches live from this season in six different languages – English, Hindi, Tamil, Telegu, Kannada and Bangla.

The ‘global media rights’ include the Indian television, digital as well as the overseas broadcast and digital media rights.

IPL on Doordarshan

Much more to come for IPL broadcasting this year. For the first time, Indian national broadcaster Doordarshan will telecast matches after, Star India agreed to share feed on 50:50 revenue sharing basis.

According to some earlier information revealed in the media, Star had been urging for 75:25 revenue sharing model until Thursday, but with I&B ministry not giving the broadcaster the necessary permission for live up linking of the IPL, they were force to agree to an equal level of share.

As part of the agreement, Star will share the opening match, last four league matches, the play-offs and the final in a delayed feed.

Virtual Reality

IPL 2018 will also be available in virtual reality (VR) format on Hotstar, the Star network’s video streaming platform.

Star India managing director Sanjay Gupta said, “In India, between 600 and 700 million people follow cricket. However, of these, not more than 30 million would have seen a live cricket match in a stadium. We want to enhance the experience for those who can’t make it to the stadiums. Through Hotstar, using technology, we have made the virtual reality option available this year.”

There are two ways to view the IPL in VR on Hotstar. The first is through VR glasses available in the market. Another option within the app will be to pause the match at any given time, and swipe/tilt the phone to get a 360-degree view of the ground. Both will be a first for IPL telecast on digital.

Return of Chennai and Rajasthan

The return of Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals after two years of suspension for match fixing scandals, has increased the compatibility of the tournament and crowd enthusiasm this year.

Prior to being banned, CSK reached in the play-off level in all the editions they played.

The theme song released by the Chennai Super Kings prior to the tournament stirred the supporters of the franchise team where CSK skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni inspired the followers through regenerative words.

On the other hand, this year Chennai Super Kings dropped their regular performer Ravichandran Ashwin from the team.

New faces in leading roles

Ravichandran Ashwin, after being released from Chennai Super Kings, had been enrolled by Kings XI Punjab; the role was defined right into the top as Ashwin emerged as the skipper of Punjab. This is, however, the first time, the 31 year old all-rounder, will lead a T20 side in any level.

The suspension of David Warner, opened the gate for Kane Williamson. The Kiwi batsman found himself in the spot to lead the side now.

There was a change in captaincy in Kolkata Knight Riders’ camp as well; Dinesh Karthik has taken over the lead from Gautam Gambhir, the two time title winning captain of KKR who is now playing for Delhi Daredevils this year.

Related Articles

Prizes and Prize money compilations of IPL 2018

Rampage Watson gives CSK 3rd IPL title

Preview: SRH’s 2nd or CSK’s 3rd?

du Plessis drives CSK into 7th Final

Time table of Indian Premier League 2018 play-off matches