Shakib in Harsha Bhogle’s ODI XI of the Year

For Shakib Al Hasan, 2019 has been a mixed year of both success and misery. We all know what that misery is, and why he will have to be out of the game he loves most for one full year. In the mean time, he continues to get his name marked in the best XIs of the year and the decade.

Shakib in ODI XI of the Year

Thanks to a wonderful year in the 50-over format, Shakib has been picked up by India’s world famous cricket commentator Harsha Bhogle to be in his ODI XI of the year. Earlier Shakib also made to the best ODI XI of the decade prepared by Wisden and Cricket Australia.

Also Read - Akmal forced to apologise to journalist

Shakib was at his ultimate best in the ODI World Cup this year, where he made 606 runs in eight innings with an astonishing average of 86.57. Apart from two centuries, Shakib also had five 50s to his name, which means he failed to go past 50 in just one match. He was equally brilliant with the bat in hand, and took 11 wickes.

Overall in the 11 ODIs Shakib played in 2019, he made 746 runs at 93.25, and also bagged 13 wickets.

In Shakib’s squad, Shakib will come to bat at NO.5. He is in the team as an all-rounder, and so is Ben Stokes as well.

Harsha said the following on Shakib’s inclusion in his side: “It does not matter to me that my No.5 will not be able to play for a while because of certain other misdemeanous. But he went to the World Cup, he scored a lot of runs. It was an unbelievable year for Shakib Al Hasan.”

Then he also added, “He can bat at No.5. Most days he can bowl 10 overs. He provides perfect balance to whichever team he plays for. So Shakib Al Hasan is my No.5.”

In Harsha’s squad, the two openers are Rohit Sharma and Jason Roy, while Virat Kohli will bat at No.3, and Babar Azam after him. The wicketkeeping gloves are up for grabs for Jos Buttler, while Mitchell Starc, Jofra Archer and Jasprit Bumrah are the three pacers. Though Shakib is also a spinner, but the sole specialist spinner in the team is Kuldeep Yadav.

Rohit Sharma, Jason Roy, Virat Kohli, Babar Azam, Shakib Al Hasan, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, Mitchell Starc, Jofra Archer, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Pandya not focusing on comparisons to Kapil, Stokes