Shakib, Lewis get highs on latest ICC T20I ranking

Windies cricketers have enjoyed big leaps in the latest ICC T20I ranking following the series win against Bangladesh.

West Indies cricket team have earned comprehensive victory of 9 wickets over the visiting side India in the one-off T20I. Batting first, India get a fighting total of 190 runs. But it was not well-enough in front of the home side on Sunday. Magnificent Evin Lewis hammered his second T20I century against India to ruin the dream of India’s victory and sealed victory for the Caribbean. The left-hand opener Evin Lewis started chasing with his cameo. He charged the bowlers of India and used to score quick runs from the beginning of the run-chase. West Indies scored fifty in just 4.4 overs. Despite of Chris Gayle’s departure on 82 in the 9th over, Lewis kept continue his cameo. He brought up in just 28 balls with 4 fours and 4 sixes as West Indies got 100 runs within 11 overs. Ein Lewis alongside Samuels used to hit boundaries all over the field. The left-hander hard hitter of the ball, took 53 balls to reach in his second T20Is century. He played a total of number 5 fours and 9 massive sixes to reach in milestone. Lewis and Samuels added unbeaten 112 runs and secured victory with 9 wickets in hand. Samuels was not out on 36 and Evin Lewis on 125. Lewis adored his innings with 6 fours and 12 sixes. It seemed, whole India team lost the match not to West Indies but to Evin Lewis. Kuldeep Yadav was the bowler who earned the only wickets fallen in West Indies innings. Before that, West Indies sent India to bat first after winning toss. The visitors started well and set a total of 190 runs for 6 after 20 overs. Dinesh Karthik scored highest 48 runs for his side and he is easement by Kohli’s 39 and Pant’s 38 runs little cameo. Among the Caribbean bowlers, Jerome Tayloy and Kesrick Williams both bagged two wickets. Brief scores- India: 190/6 in 20 overs (Karthik 48, Kohli 39, Pant 38; Taylor 31/2) West Indies: 194/1 in 18.3 overs (Lewis 125*, Samuels 36*, Gayle 18; Kuldeep 34/1) Result: West Indies won by 9 wickets. Man of the Match: Evin Lewis (West Indies)

The lastly published MRF Tyres ICC T20I Player Ranking on Sunday 23rd of December, Windies bowlers Keemo Paul, Sheldon Cottrell and Fabian Allen have made huge gains following the three-match series win between the Caribbean side and Bangladesh.

Alongside them, Windies opener Evin Lewis, who blitzed a match-winning 89 in the series decider, jumped 11 places to rest at number 4.

Also Read - Mahmudullah’s missing title

Bangladesh shortest format skipper Shakib Al Hasan also achieved significant advancement in all three tables of the ranking.

Mahmudullah made a brisk 43 off 21

In the all-rounder’s ranking, he climbed one spot to be in the second position while moved three spots to No. 7 in the bowler’s column. Shakib also leapt seven spots to No. 37 in the batting chart. The Bangladesh captain was adjudged man of the series in the three match T20I series.

Mahmudullah Riyad climbed one spot to be in No. 4 in the all-rounder’s ranking, rode 17 places in the bowling column to be at No. 51 and two places to No. 31 in the batting list.

Litton Kumar Das was the other significant gainer for Bangladesh who rose 26 places to be at No. 47.

Top Teams

Rank Country Points
1  Pakistan 138
2  India 126
3  England 118
4  Australia 117
5  South Africa 114
6  New Zealand 112
7  West Indies 100
8  Afghanistan 92
9  Sri Lanka 87
10  Bangladesh 78


Top 10 batsmen

Rank Name Country Rating
1 Babar Azam PAK 858
2 C. Munro NZ 815
3 A.J. Finch AUS 806
4 E. Lewis WI 751
5 Fakhar Zaman PAK 749
6 G.J. Maxwell AUS 745
7 K.L. Rahul IND 719
8 M.J. Guptill NZ 703
9 A.D. Hales ENG 697
10 R.G. Sharma IND 689

Top 10 bowlers

Rank Name Country Rating
1 Rashid Khan AFG 793
2 Shadab Khan PAK 752
3 Kuldeep Yadav IND 714
4 A.U. Rashid ENG 676
5 A. Zampa AUS 670
6 I.S. Sodhi NZ 668
7 Shakib Al Hasan BAN 658
8 Faheem Ashraf PAK 652
9 Imad Wasim PAK 651
10 Imran Tahir SA 640


Top 10 all-rounders

Rank Name Country Rating
1 G.J. Maxwell AUS 362
2 Shakib Al Hasan BAN 339
3 Mohammad Nabi AFG 314
4 Mahmudullah BAN 241
5 J.P. Duminy SA 217
6 N.L.T.C. Perera SL 213
7 P.R. Stirling IRE 208
8 R.D. Berrington SCO 203
9 S.C. Williams ZIM 198
10 Mohammad Hafeez PAK 193
Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Young Tigers register series victory in New Zealand

Hardik Pandya may be out for a long time: BCCI official

Watch: Shoriful Islam sends Mariu’s leg-stump walking

Mosharraf taking inspiration from Yuvraj to play again

Bumrah to skip whole season of Test cricket