Shakib, Warner retained by Sunrisers

World’s number one all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan has been retained by the Sunrisers Hyderabad for the IPL 2019.

Live: Sunrisers to bowl first, Shakib to play first match of the season
Shakib was a regular feature in the Sunrisers squad last season.

Shakib was among 17 players retained by IPL T20 franchise Sunrisers Hyderabad, ahead of the 12th edition of the tournament.

Shakib was a regular feature for the Sunrisers in IPL’s last season, after spending seven seasons on the trot at Kolkata Knight Riders. Apart from scoring 239 runs, the premier all-rounder also picked up 14 wickets to help his side reach the final.

Also Read - Root reprimanded, handed one demerit point

Other notable retainees by Sunrisers include Australia’s David Warner, the side’s designated captain, who missed the 2018 season following the Newlands ball-tampering scandal, as well as Afghanistan’s Rashid Khan, Mohammad Nabi, and New Zealand’s Kane Williamson.

Manish Pandey and pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar too have been retained.

Sunrisers, however, released India wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha, the England duo of Alex Hales and Chris Jordan, and West Indies T20I captain Carlos Brathwaite.

Prior to his announcement, SRH had traded Shikhar Dhawan to Delhi Daredevils, acquiring Vijay Shankar, Abhishek Sharma, and the left-arm spinner Shahbaz Nadeem in return for the opener who said he felt “unsettled” in the franchise.

Sunrisers squad:

Retained: Basil Thampi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Hooda, Manish Pandey, T Natarajan, Ricky Bhui, Sandeep Sharma, Siddarth Kaul, Shreevats Goswami (wk), Khaleel Ahmed, Yusuf Pathan, Billy Stanlake, David Warner, Kane Williamson, Rashid Khan, Mohammad Nabi

Traded in: Abhishek Sharma, Vijay Shankar, Shahbaz Nadeem (from Daredevils).

Traded out: Shikhar Dhawan (to Daredevils)

Released: Sachin Baby, Tanmay Agarwal, Wriddhiman Saha, Chris Jordan, Carlos Brathwaite, Alex Hales, Bipul Sharma, Mehdi Hasan


Related Articles

Teams confirmed for Commonwealth Games 2022

Winning the IPL title is the ultimate goal: Steve Smith

Australia could ‘rest and rotate’ pacers in Ashes

Green awarded Cricket Australia contract

Gabba in line for billion-dollar project for Olympics