Shakib’s record in T20 finals

Bangladesh’s Shakib Al Hasan is set to play his tenth final in T20 cricket as his team Sunrisers Hyderabad will take on Chennai Super Kings at Wankhede in the final of Indian Premier League 2018. [নিউজটি বাংলায় পড়ুনঃ টি-টোয়েন্টিতে সাকিবের ফাইনালের রেকর্ড]

Shakib's record in T20 finals
Shakib won IPL for KKR in 2012 & 2014. Photo: Collected


Shakib is the most experienced Bangladeshi player in T20 cricket with 270 matches. He has a double of 4000+ runs and 300+ wickets in this format, a feat which is achieved only by Dwayne Bravo.

Also Read - Preview: SRH's 2nd or CSK's 3rd?

Shakib has been playing T20 leagues around the globe since 2011 when Kolkata Knight Riders picked him. The ace all-rounder won two IPL seasons for them in 2012 and 2014.

Shakib was won Bangladesh Premier League (twice) and one Caribbean Premier League trophy. He also won a title for Prime Bank Cricket Club in Victory Day T20 tournament in 2013. He has represented Bangladesh in two T20 finals — Asia Cup 2016 and Nidahas Trophy 2018.

Out of nine T20 finals, Shakib has won six of them. Although he doesn’t have a very effective record in T20 finals. With the bat in hand, he has scored 144 runs at a strike rate of 132.11 in 8 innings. His best score in the finals is 41 against Chittagong Kings in 2013 BPL final.

Shakib has taken 8 wickets in 9 innings at 7.55 with the ball in hand. His 2/25 vs Guyana Amazon Warriors in 2016 CPL final.

Overall, Shakib has won T20 leagues for KKR, Jamaica Tallawahs, Dhaka Gladiators and Dhaka Dynamites.

The 31-year-old will be playing his third IPL final on Sunday (May 27). Interestingly, Shakib had won Kolkata’s first IPL trophy over Chennai on the same day six years ago. He took one wicket and scored 11* off 7 in that match.

Related Articles

Mitchell Starc sues insurer for $1.53 million over missed IPL season

BCB thinking of reconsidering cricketers’ participation in foreign leagues

Prizes and Prize money compilations of IPL 2018

Rampage Watson gives CSK 3rd IPL title

Preview: SRH’s 2nd or CSK’s 3rd?