Shallow Sylhet Sixers engulf Defending Champions in tournament opener

Shallow Sylhet Sixers engulf Defending Champions in tournament opener Underrated Sylhet Sixers ushered big upset in the opening match of the fifth edition of the Bangladesh Premier League outclassing defending champion Dhaka Dynamites at the Sylhet International Stadium in Saturday.

On their hunt towards the target of 136 runs to win the match, two opening batsmen of Sylhet Sixers Upul Tharanga and Andre Fletcher raced in the beginning of the host’s innings.

Both of them competing each other scoring runs denying any chance for the Dynamites’ bowlers to bring the match in their corner.

Also Read - Live: Defending Champion Dhaka Dynamites to bat first

Tharanga and Fletcher showcased absolute dominance over everything scoring respective half centuries with immense strike rates in the innings.

At the end of the day, the opening pair of Sylhet Sixers were detached by Adil Rashid when the team was just 12 runs away from the big win.

Sabbir Rahman joined with unbeaten Upul Tharanga to complete the task with 2 off 2.

Tharanga scored highest 69 runs in 48 balls with 5 fours and 2 sixes.

Earlier in the commencing session of the tournament, defending champion Dhaka Dynamites was curbed in a scanty total of 136 runs in 20 overs losing 7 wickets after being sent into bat first.

Bangladesh national team all-rounder Nasir Hossain and England front line paceman Liam Plunkett ruled over Dhaka Dynamites’ batting line up taking quick wickets as well as restricting the run flow.

The 54 run second wicket partnership between opener Evin Lewis and one down batsman Kumar Sangakkara became the only significant partnership in the Dynamites’ innings.

Lewis and Sangakkara paired up to the eighth over of the innings pulling down the initial disaster inflicted by Nasir Hossain grabbing the wicket of hard hitter Mehedi Maruf in the last delivery of the first over.

Nasir, afterwards, also claimed the second wicket of the Dynamites’ innings when he forced Lewis to hand the nick to Abul Hasan; Lewis’ 24 ball 26 is the second highest run in the defending champion’s first match innings, he hit 3 fours and a six.

Sangakkara toppled Lewis scoring 32 runs with similar number of fours and sixes. Plunkett made double strikes in the Dhaka Dynamites’ innings stopping both the Sri Lankan great Sangakkara and ace Bangladeshi all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan (23 off 21).

West Indian hard hitter Kieron Pollard was restricted by Abul Hasan who also took the wicket of Adil Rashid to end Dynamites’ innings.

Brief Score:
Dhaka Dynamites 136/7 (20 overs)
Kumar Sangakkara 32, Evin Lewis 26, Shakib Al Hasan 23
Nasir Hossain 2/21, Liam Plunkett 2/20, Abul Hasan 2/24

Sylhet Sixers 137/1 (16.5 overs)
Upul Tharanga 69*, Andre Fletcher 63

Adil Rashid 1/31

Result: Sylhet Sixers won by 9 wickets.

Toss: Sylhet Sixers.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.
Tweet 20

Related Articles

Bangla Tigers end the Super League stage with lose in Abu Dhabi T10

Fletcher, Rossouw bring another win for Bangla Tigers in Abu Dhabi T10

Fletcher star as Bangla Tigers win their second match in Abu Dhabi T10

Sylhet Sixers sign off BPL 2019 with a comprehensive win

Windies squad announced for Bangladesh T20Is