Shannon Gabriel charged by ICC
West Indies fast bowler Shannon Gabriel has been charged by the International Cricket Council following the homophobic incident with England captain Joe Root.
Gabriel, 30, has been charged with breaching the ICC’s code of conduct.
The charge is under article 2.13, which relates to the personal abuse of a player, player support personnel, umpire or match referee during an international match.
An ICC statement read, “Shannon Gabriel has been charged with a breach Article 2.13 of the ICC Code of Conduct. The charge, which was laid by match umpires, will now be dealt with by Match Referee Jeff Crowe. Until the proceedings have concluded, the ICC will not comment further.”
The English captain denied to reveal what Gabriel uttered to him during the situation. ‘It’s not a fault being gay,’ Root was heard saying on television having been picked up via the stump microphone, but Gabriel’s part of the conversation was not audible.
Joe Root has been highly appreciated for his calm role in the incident, said on Tuesday evening, “The ICC have got to handle things – I am not in a position to comment.
“The series has been played in the right manner between the two sides. [Windies] are a good bunch of guys and it would be a shame if this tarnishes it,” he said.
“As a player you feel you have responsibilities to uphold on the field and I stand by what I did. I just did what I thought was right.
“You have responsibility to go about things in a certain manner on the field and it felt appropriate to act how I did,” the English captain added.
England said they would not comment on the charge and will wait “until the process is concluded by the ICC”.
A BBC analysis said, in the Caribbeans, different perspectives prevail regarding what would be taken as homophobic remark.