SL win rain-affected ODI in thriller

Sri Lanka have got back to winning ways after a nail-biting victory by 3 runs (D/L method) over South Africa in the fourth ODI at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium. The series is still with the Proteas, leading by 3-1.

SL win rain-affected ODI in thriller
Shanaka and Thisara finished off SL’s innings well. ©Getty Images


Quinton de Kock chose to bowl first on his captaincy debut. Rain affected the match constantly which led umpires curtail overs. In the end, it was finalised to 39 overs-a-side.

Also Read - Shakib opens up regarding his viral video

Kusal Perera boosted Sri Lanka’s start. He hit 32-ball 51 runs including 6 fours and 2 sixes. His innings set the tone. Skipper Angelo Mathews didn’t do much with the bat. Thisara Perera and Dasun Shanaka put up a terrific finish for the hosts.

Shanaka slammed his maiden fifty on his first ODI in two years. He scored 65 runs off 34 balls hitting 4 fours and 5 sixes. Thisara remained unbeaten till the end for 51* off 45 with 3 fours and 2 sixes. These two added 109 runs for the seventh-wicket.

Sri Lanka posted 306/7 in 39 overs, setting a target of 308 runs in D/L method for the Proteas.

Rain came again when South Africa were 21/0 in two overs. The target was revised down to 191 in 21 overs. de Kock gave his side a quick start with 23 off 13. He became the sixth-quickest (94 innings) to 4000 ODI runs.

Hashim Amla made 23-ball 40 hitting 6 boundaries. JP Duminy kept South Africa on charge with 38 off 23. Regular wickets kept Sri Lanka in the game. David Miller was dismissed by Suranga Lakmal in the last over, when only eight runs were need with two wickets in hand.

South Africa were restricted to 187/9. Lakmal bagged 3 for 46 in 5 overs. Thisara Perara took two wickets after his cameo with the bat.

Brief scores:

Sri Lanka 306/7 in 39 overs (Shanaka 65, T Perera 51*, K Perera 51; Duminy 2/35)

South Africa 187/9 in 21 overs (Amla 40, Duminy 38; Lakmal 3/46, T Perera 2/32)

Sri Lanka won by 3 runs (D/L)

Man of the Match: Dasun Shanaka

Related Articles

Preview: India vs Sri Lanka, Nidahas Trophy, Match-1