SLC releases quarantine schedule for Indian players

Sri Lanka Cricket released the quarantine schedule for the Indian touring team who will play a limited-overs leg in Sri Lanka.

England collapse hands India comprehensive win
Indian players celebrate a wicket. Photo: Getty Images

In the gap between the final of the World Test Championship and the England series, India are scheduled to have a limited-overs tour to Sri Lanka. India will play three T20Is and three ODIs there. The series will start with the ODI series on July 13th. With the current situation in Sri Lanka, all six matches are expected to be played in R Premadasa Stadium, Colombo.

Ahead of the tour, BCCI released the Indian touring squad. The left-handed batsman Shikhar Dhawan is named as the skipper for the subsidiary squad as the Test squad members will continue to stay in England. The right-arm fast bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar will serve as the deputy.

Also Read - Cricket Australia sets three conditions to BCB

On the other hand, Sri Lanka Cricket revealed the series schedule and the quarantine schedule for the Indian Cricket team in Sri Lanka. According to the schedule, Shikhar Dhawan and co will arrive in Sri Lanka on June 28th.

India are expected to have a short quarantine from June 29th to July 1st. Then the team can start practices inside the quarantine for the next three days. From July 5th, Indian players will be allowed to come out of the quarantine and they can have their practices and other activities inside the bubble.

“I am confident this series is going to attract the attention of the cricketing world, as both teams, which have excelled in the shorter formats of the game, plays an exciting brand of cricket, thus bringing joy to the fans,” said Mr Ashley De Silva, CEO of Sri Lanka Cricket.

India’s schedule before series commencement:

Room Quarantine – 29th June to 1st July

Quarantine / Practice – 2nd July to 4th July

Practice /  Rest – 5th July to 12th July

ODI Series Schedule:

1st ODI – 13th July

2nd ODI – 16th July

3rd ODI – 18th July

T20I Series Schedule:

1st T20I – 21st July

2nd T20I – 23rd July

3rd T20I – 25th July

Related Articles

Watch: Rohit practices with Kohli in the nets ahead of WTC Final

When Test cricket had finals

The Ultimate Test: Cricket awaits its first Test world champions

WTC Final: India reveal their playing XI

Jaffer highlights New Zealand’s strange weakness ahead of WTC Final