SLC selectors to meet early next week to finalise squad for SA tour

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) will convene the first meeting of the new selection committee on Monday or Tuesday.

SLC selectors to meet early next week to finalise squad for SA tour

According to the Colombo-based sources, the invitation to all seven selectors will be sent on Saturday.

Also Read - Lyon added to the Australian T20I squad

SLC, on Saturday announced the names of new selection committee comprising seven members:

(1)  Asantha De Mel – Chairman (2) Chaminda Mendis (3)  Pramodya Wickramasinghe (4)  M.A.W.R. Madurasinghe (5)  Ms. T. Nilmini Gunarathne (6)  Hemantha Devapriya and (7)  S.H.U. Karnain.

The selectors’ immediate task would be to select the squad for the South Africa tour.

Chaminda Mendis, one member of the committee may not physically remain present as he is a member of the Lanka Premier League (LPL) technical committee but the chairman may seek his views over the telephone.

The views from the Head Coach will also be sought over the photo or conference. Dimuth Karunaratne, not part of the LPL is likely to be consulted before the final squad is announced.

Sri Lanka will play two-match Test series against South Africa which is scheduled to start this year on December 26.

Related Articles

Four Sri Lankan players go through ‘in-competition’ doping test in Galle

Dhananjaya out for two weeks

Dhananjaya to be taken for ultrasound scans

Lakmal fails fitness test on the eve of Boxing Day Test

Oshado Fernando recovering well: Likely to begin batting practice soon