South Africa announce ODI squad for Australia tour

Without the availability of two key players Hashim Amla and JP Duminy, South Africa have announced 15-man squad for the ODI series against Australia on Tuesday.

South Africa thrash Zimbabwe

Chris Morris and Farhaan Behardien makes a comeback in the ODI side and are basically named as the replacements of Amla and Duminy. Morris last played for South Africa in February in the India series and then he missed the series in Sri Lanka due to the back injury he picked up during the Indian Premier League (IPL).

When asked behind the reason of including Morris, National Selection Panel convener Linda Zondi said:

Also Read - Papon terms Mushfiqur as the most successful captain

“Chris confirmed his fitness with his excellent form for the Titans in the first two rounds of the 4-Day Domestic Series. He is the leading wicket-taker in this competition to date and also adds value as a batting option in the lower-order.”

Zondi also explained the reason behind selecting Dwaine Pretorious and due to losing a lot of experience in the batting order, Farhaan has been called back to add some experience in the top order.

“With Wiaan Mulder ruled out at the moment through injury we need to look at our resources as far as batting all-rounder options are concerned and Dwaine, in particular, fits into this category. We have also lost a lot of experience in our specialist batting order through the injuries to Hashim Amla and JP Duminy, and Farhaan gives us another experienced option in the top order.”

Squad:  Faf Du Plessis (c), Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Imran Tahir, Heinrich Klaasen, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Chris Morris, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Dale Steyn.

Related Articles

Phehlukwayo spotted with Apple Watch during match, raises serious questions

Watch: Rabada bowls a bizarre delivery to Maxwell

South Africa seal easy win despite Maxwell’s all-round effort

Du Plessis reveals retirement plan

Du Plessis-Miller set up series win for South Africa