South Africa announce squad for first two ODIs

South Africa have announced 14-man squad for the first two ODIs against Pakistan where  Rassie van der Dussen has earned a maiden call-up.

ICC likely to approve CSA's four day Test proposal
Van der Dussen, who scored a half-century on his T20I debut against Zimbabwe last year has earned a maiden call-up in the ODI side. The batsman averages more than 40 in first-class and List A cricket. He was also picked for the inaugural Global T20 league in Canada by the Vancouver Knights and ended up as the team’s highest run-getter (255 runs).

Meanwhile, Dane Paterson and veteran batsman Hashim Amla returns to the side while JP Duminy and Lungi Ngidi miss out due to injuries. Paterson last played for South Africa in his debut series against Bangladesh in 2017. Amla, who missed the Australia series due to finger injury has recovered fully to craw his place back into the side.

CSA National Selection Panel (NSP) convener Linda Zond said

Also Read - Watch: Cutting's face cut open by dropped catch

“We need to look at all the options available to us as we get closer to selecting our final squad for this year’s World Cup. Rassie and Dane are two players who have been knocking strongly on the door in all formats. e are very happy with the way in which our Vision 2019 is taking shape. The series against Pakistan could not have come at a better time as they will provide a very stern test for the Proteas under conditions very similar to what we will experience at the World Cup.”

Despite the ODI series consists of five matches, South Africa decided to announce squad only for the first two ODIs. When asked the reason behind it, the selector explained that it will help to keep options open in the lead-up to the World Cup.

“Those players who went to Australia and have not been selected for the first two matches – Farhaan Behardien, Aiden Markram and Chris Morris – are by no means out of the picture and they may well get further opportunities in the second half of the series,” he added.

Squad: Faf du Plessis (c), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Imran Tahir, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Dane Paterson, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Dale Steyn, Rassie van der Dussen.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

India remain unbeaten against Pakistan in World Cup

Time to think about ourselves only: Mashrafe

Fair enough to put us in underdog category: Holder

Russell to miss the clash against Bangladesh?

Taylor, Masakadza back in Zimbabwe squad