South Africa announce squad, uncapped Markram-Nortje picked

South Africa have included the uncapped duo Aiden Markram and Anrich Nortje including Sinethemba Qeshile for the three-match T20I series against Sri Lanka.

SA white-wash
Markram and Nortje, who remained till the end in the last ODI to complete the 5-0 white-wash have earned a call-up in the shortest format.

The 20-year old wicket-keeper batsman Qeshile has also been selected, but for the second and the third T20I. The senior and experienced players including the skipper Faf du Plessis, Quinton de Kock, Imran Tahir and Kagiso Rabada will feature in only the opening match of the series.

Also Read - "I'm not interested about the comparison too much" - Pant replies

Chris Morris and Lutho Simpala will be included in the squad for the last two matches while all-rounder JP Duminy will lead the side in du Plessis’ absence.

CSA’s National Selection Panel convener Linda Zondi said –

“The first match forms part of our vision 2019 to continue exploring our options for the ICC Men’s World Cup. The squad for that match consists largely of the squads that have been doing duty in the Momentum ODI Series against Pakistan and Sri Lanka. We would have liked to include Hashim Amla but unfortunately he remains unavailable because of his family situation.”

“We have used our T20 International matches in the past as the first port of call to widen the pool of talent. This has resulted in Rassie van der Dussen, Gihahn Cloete, Janneman Malan and Lutho Sipamla being brought through the pipeline with considerable success during the course of the current season,” he added.

Squad for 1st T20I:
 Faf du Plessis (c), Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Reeza Hendricks, Imran Tahir, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukway, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Dale Steyn, Rassie van der Dussen.

Squad for 2nd and 3rd T20Is: JP Duminy (c), Reeza Hendricks, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Chris Morris (Multiply Titans), Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Sinethemba Qeshile, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lutho Sipamla, Dale Steyn, Rassie van der Dussen.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Markram eyes Proteas ‘Test’ captaincy

Aiden Markram ruled out of Test series

Aiden Markram ruled out of third Test due to wrist injury

‘I asked the selectors to pick me’ – Umesh Yadav

Watch: Ravi Ashwin stuns Aiden Markram with an astonishing delivery