South Africa jump to second after 3-0 whitewash over Pakistan

South Africa have successfully whitewashed Pakistan 3-0 after beating the third and the final Test comfortably by 107 runs at the Wanderers.

SA clean sweep Pak
The visitors had to surrender after South Africa posted a target of 381 runs in a bowling paradise. Duanne Olivier, Kagiso Rabada and Vernon Philander ran through the heart of Pakistan’s lower/middle order to secure an easy win in the end.

Due to one-match suspension, Faf du Plessis couldn’t take part in the final Test. Stand-in captain Dean Elgar won the toss and elected to bat first. Opener Aiden Markram played a sensible knock of 90 runs while Hashim Amla, Theunis de Bruyn and Zubayr Hamza all departed in the 40s.

Also Read - Zimbabwe's tour of India doubtful due to IPL 2019

A superb effort from the Pakistan bowlers turned the tables as the hosts bundled out for only 262 runs in the first innings. Faheem Ashraf was the pick of the man, who picked up three wickets while Amir, Abbas and Hasan Ali picked up two wickets each.

In reply, Pakistan’s batting problem continued in the last Test too as they kept losing their path in the middle. Babar Azam (49) and skipper Sarfraz Ahmed (50) gave hopes to cross the 200-mark, but another brilliant bowling display from Olivier destroyed Pakistan once again. The all-rounder picked up a fifer, Philander and Rabada chipped in with three and two wickets respectively.

Pakistan fought back hard in the second innings putting South Africa into deep trouble with 45/4, but Amla (71) and de Kock (129) pulled back the hosts to take a huge lead.

The visitors started off the chase well with the openers putting 67 runs in the opening stand, but the first wicket opened the doors wide and open yet again. Pakistan kept losing wickets and had to surrender in the end.

With this win, South Africa jump to the second position crossing New Zealand and England while Pakistan drop down to the seventh position after a disastrous series.

Brief scores:

South Africa 262 (Aiden Markram 90; Faheem Ashraf 3-57) and 303 (Quinton de Kock 129, Hashim Amla 71; Shadab Kahn 3-41) beat Pakistan 185 (Sarfraz Ahmed 50; Duanne Olivier 5-51) and 273 (Asad Shafiq 65; Duanne Olivier 3-74) by 107 runs.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.
Tweet 20

Related Articles

Kohli gives a heartwhelming statement about Williamson

Kyle Jarvis ruled out of Bangladesh tour

Quinton de Kock named South Africa’s ODI captain

MS Dhoni omitted from BCCI’s central contract

Ben Stokes named ICC Player of the Year