South Africa name squads for West Indies, Ireland tours

Cricket South Africa has named squads across formats ahead of their tours of West Indies and Ireland.

Bevuma, Elgar named new captains of South Africa

Dean Elgar era will kick off with the West Indies Tests. He was appointed the new captain after Quinton de Kock held the position till Pakistan tour.

Also Read - AB de Villiers quits comeback plan from retirement

Lizaad Williams, Kyle Verreynne, Keegan Petersen, Sarel Erwee and Marco Jansen are the six uncapped players in the 19-man squad. Jansen had made into the big stage during his tenure with Mumbai Indians in the IPL 2021.

Sisanda Magala and Williams have been named in limited-overs squad. Both of them have played T20Is for South Africa. 19 players will be in the five West Indies T20Is before heading to Ireland, where spinner Keshav Maharaj will join, for three ODIs and as many T20Is.

St Lucia will host the non-World Test Championship Tests starting on June 10 and 14 respectively. Grenada will host the five T20Is between June 26 and July 3. This will be South Africa’s first bilateral tour to the Caribbean in 11 years.

The Ireland tour will run from July 11 to 25 as it will be South Africa’s first bilateral visit there. The ODIs will carry 30 Cricket World Cup Super League points.

South Africa Test squad: Dean Elgar (captain), Temba Bavuma (vice-captain), Quinton de Kock (wk), Sarel Erwee, Beuran Hendricks, George Linde, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Anrich Nortje, Keegan Peterson, Kagiso Rabada, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lizaad Williams, Prenelan Subrayen, Marco Jansen.

South Africa T20I and ODI squad: Temba Bavuma (captain), Quinton de Kock (wk), Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, George Linde, Sisanda Magala, Keshav Maharaj (only for Ireland), Janneman Malan, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Lizaad Williams.

Related Articles

Boucher explains reason behind de Villiers’ international return denial

Crisis in South Africa cricket comes to solution

‘Very sad day for cricket’: SA crisis deepens

SA captains fear suspension from T20 World Cup

Minister of Sports Nathi Mthethwa threatens to ban CSA