South African skipper Temba Bavuma ruled out from England tour due to elbow injury

Rossouw returns to the national colors for the first time since 2016 when he signed a Kolpak deal with Hampshire in England

vision mobile

Hasi Kamanger

Posted -

Updated -

Temba Bavuma, the Proteas' white ball captain, suffered an elbow injury during the team's just-concluded T20 series in India and was ruled out of the team's entire UK tour. His recovery is expected to take eight weeks, after which his return to the game program would begin.

South Africa's white-ball skipper and Test vice-captain Temba Bavuma has been ruled out of his tour of England which begins next month, Cricket South Africa said on Wednesday.
Bavuma recently suffered an elbow injury during a Twenty20 series in India and is taking eight weeks to recover.
The Proteas will play three World Cup Tests, three one-day internationals and three T20 internationals against England and two T20 internationals against Ireland in England.
Left-arm spinner Keshav Maharaj will lead the one-day team and hitter David Miller will lead the T20 side in Bavuma's absence.
South Africa have added Essex off-spinner Simon Harmer to their Test squad after he and Maharaj were match-winners in a series against Bangladesh last season.
They have chosen a strong tempo attack, with Anrich Nortje, their fastest bowler, set to return to a Test after missing Tests in the 2021-22 season with a hip injury.
He joins Kagiso Rabada and big left arm Marco Jansen in what could be a powerful combination.
South Africa have not won a Test series against the English since 2012, when Graeme Smith guided them to victory in England.
But South Africa are currently second in the Test World Cup and have had impressive home victories over India and Bangladesh and an away streak against world champions New Zealand.
England are in seventh place but, under the new leadership of captain Ben Stokes and manager Brendon McCullum, have enjoyed a rousing 3-0 win over New Zealand.
Left-handed batsman Rilee Rossouw, 32, was selected for the T20 internationals and returned to the national colors for the first time since 2016 when he signed a Kolpak deal with Hampshire in England.
Fast bowler Gerald Coetzee, 21, is also in the T20 roster, the only uncapped player in all three squads.
South African squads
Dean Elgar (capt), Sarel Erwee, Simon Harmer, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Duanne Olivier, Keegan Petersen, Kagiso Rabada, Ryan Rickelton, Lutho Sipamla, Glenton Stuurman, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne (wkt), Khaya Zondo.
One-day internationals:
Keshav Maharaj (capt), Quinton de Kock (wkt), Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Janneman Malan, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Anrich Nortje, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Lizaad Williams, Kyle Verreynne, Khaya Zondo.