South Zone clinch hat-trick BCL title

South Zone have strengthened their legacy in the Bangladesh Cricket League (BCL) as they completed a hat-trick of titles by winning their fifth championship in eight editions by defeating East Zone in the final on Tuesday at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram.South Zone clinch hat-trick BCL title

Earlier, South Zone clinched the BCL crown in 2013-14, 14-15, 17-18 and 18-19 seasons. As champions, they received prize money of Tk 35 lakh.

After putting up a huge total of 486 runs in the first innings, South Zone resumed their second innings on Tuesday with overnight score of 125 for eight, and were eventually folded for mere 140 runs. This gave Islami Bank East Zone a target of 354 runs to seal the deal, as they had made 273 in their first innings.

Also Read - Mashrafe's ODI captaincy future still undecided

Opening their second innings on Tuesday with an eye on the championship, East Zone were all-out for 248 runs, falling 105 runs short of their desired total.

Anamul Haque, who had totaled 658 runs last season, has become the highest run-scorer for the second consecutive time, scoring 501 runs this season. Thanks to this, he has been adjudged the Man of the Tournament as well.

However the crucial Man of the Final award has gone to seasoned campaigner Farhad Reza, who scored a very important ton in the first innings and followed it up by two wickets in the penultimate day of the match.

Brief Scores: East Zone 273 & 248 in 68.4 overs (Mahmudul 81, Zakir 42) lost to South Zone 486 & 140 in 35.1 overs (Mahedi 53, Hasan 4/35) by 105 runs.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Al-Amin fined for Code of Conduct breach

Mushfiqur tons up, Nayeem bags 8

Four fast bowlers rested for BCL third round

Imrul, Mushfiqur fit to play in second round of BCL

Tamim worthy of this record: Akram