Sri Lanka announce squad for T20s, Lakmal returns

Sri Lanka have announced 16-man squad for the T20I series against South Africa where fast bowler Suranga Lakmal has been recalled.

Sri Lanka squad announced
After a lengthy absence for Suranga Lakmal due to injury, the fast bowler is finally back into the side. While Jeffrey Vandersay, Sadeera Samarawickrama and Asitha Fernando are among the other additions.

Dasun Shanaka has been left out of the squad which was announced on Thursday. Lakmal ast played a T20I in March 2018 while his last ODI appearance came in September in the same year while le-spinner Vandersay hasn’t played a game for Sri Lanka since his ODI appearance against Pakistan in October 2017.

Angelo Perera, Avishka Fernando and Priyamal Perera are also part of the squad while Oshada Fernando left out.

Also Read - Charge sheet filed against Mohammad Shami

It has also been announced that ead coach Chandika Hathrusingha will return to Colombo after the completion of the ODI series. He will come back before the World Cup to handle Sri Lanka’s preparations, Steve Rixon will serve as the acting head coach during the T20I series.

SQUAD: Lasith Malinga (c) Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Avishka Fernando, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Perera, Dhananjaya De Silva, Kamindu Mendis, Priyamal Perera, Thisara Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Isuru Udana, Asitha Fernando, Akila Dananjaya, Jeffrey Vandersay, Lakshan Sandakan.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.