Sri Lanka stuns Bangladesh with 10-wicket win

Sri Lanka needed to win to qualify in the final or they had to avoid defeat by a big margin to quality. But Sri Lanka didn’t chose any of those as they have defeated Bangladesh comfortably by ten wickets in the six match of the tri-nation series and qualified in the final.

After winning the toss, skipper Mashrafe Bin Mortaza elected to bat first and opener Anamul Haque Bijoy failed once again what looked like his last chance to prove himself. The Shakib-Tamim duo also didn’t last long this time due to the run-out of Shakib.

Bangladesh kept losing wickets and no batsman couldn’t save the team from embarrassment. They were bundled out for just 82 runs and all the Sri Lankan bowlers were on point and none failed to take wickets with Suranga Lakmal taking the most.

Also Read - Toss: Bangladesh opt to bat first

In reply, Sri Lanka were in a hurry to finish it off quickly and they needed just 11.5 overs to chase down this small total. Opener Tharanga and Gunathilaka combinedly hit 5 sixes and in the end the Lions finally got one comfortable win under their belt.

Zimbabwe is heading home while Bangladesh and Sri Lanka wil be ready again on Saturday to battle against each other in the final of the tri-nation series.

Brief score:

BAN 82 (24) | Mushfiqur 26 | Lakmal 3/21, Chameera 2/6
SL 83/0 (11.5) | Gunathilaka 35*, Tharanga 39* | Mustafizur 0/14

Result: Sri Lanka won by 10 wickets

Related Articles

Mashrafe furious over Super Four schedule change

‘I don’t think I have been this heartbroken in 10 years of my career’

Tiger performers feature in music video

Will Bangladesh finally win Asian title?

Mashrafe urges on winning start