Starc out of T20I series against India

Australian star fast bowler Mitchell Starc has withdrawn his name from Australia squad and for this he’ll miss the last two matches of Dettol T20I series against India. He dropped out of the series due to family reasons. He has to decide to return home after one of his family member fell ill.

Starc out of T20I series against India

Starc returned home straight from the field during practice on Saturday. The team and Cricket Australia (CA) consoled him. Respecting Starc’s decision to return, Aussie coach Justin Langer said there had been nothing bigger than family.

Also Read - Sanjay Bangar names new Indian opening pair for 2nd T20I versus Australia

“There is nothing in the world more important than family and in this case Mitch is no exception,” said Langer.

“We will give Mitch all the time he needs and welcome him back into the squad with open arms whenever he feels the time is right for him and his family.”

The India series, however, had not been a very good one so for Starc. However, he showed his old form in the first T20I as he took 2 wickets in 4 overs.

Australia have lost a number of cricketers due to injuries. Marcus Stones was injured in the first ODI and David Warner was injured in the second ODI. Ashton Agar missed the first T20I match due to injury and Pat Cummins had been rested with an eye in Test series.

D’Arcy Short, Mitch Swepson, Nathan Lyon and Moises Henriques have been added to the squad in replace of them. But they won’t announce any replacement for Starc as there’s been already Andrew Tye and Daniel Sams in the squad to cover up the vacancy of the 30-year old left-arm pacer.

Besides, India’s Ravindra Jadeja also ruled out of the T20I series due to injury in the first T20 match.

Australia will face India in the second T20I of the match at Sydney on December 6 (Sunday). India lead the series by 1-0.

Australia T20 squad: Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Alex Carey, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Glenn Maxwell, Daniel Sams, D’Arcy Short, Steven Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa

India T20I squad: Virat Kohli (c), Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul (wicketkeeper), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Sanju Samson (wk), Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, T Natarajan, Shardul Thakur

Related Articles

Watch: Tye bowls a deliberate wide to deny Vince a century in BBL

Kane Richardson to miss the India series; replacement announced

Sunil Gavaskar picks ideal playing XI for Rajasthan Royals

IPL 2020: 5 overseas players who might not play a single game

Dasun Shanaka postpones his big day wedding