Steyn left out of CSA’s national contract for 2020-21, Hendricks replaced

Beuran Hendricks receives national contract. Photo: Cricket South Africa

Veteran Proteas pacer Dale Steyn has been excluded from Cricket South Africa’s national contracts for the 2020-21 season. Left-arm fast bowler Beuran Hendricks has now included in the 16-member list.

36-year old Steyn was suffering from injury related troubles in last three years and made a comeback this year’s February.

Meanwhile Cricket South Africa awarded central contracts to young performers like Anrich Nortje, all-rounder Dwaine Pretorius and batsman Rassie van der Dussen. Former skipper Faf du Plessis has also been offered a new contract by the board.

Also Read - Remaining PSL matches to be held in November

CSA acting Chief Executive Dr Jacques Faul said,

“We have contracted 16 men’s players and 14 women’s players which we feel is the appropriate number to maintain our national squads across the formats.

“This enables us to contract both our Test players as well as those who are limited overs specialists. We have decided to keep the 17th men’s contract open for the moment and players can qualify for it through performance,” he said.

The men’s contracts will cover a busy schedule of T20 World Cup in Australia, South Africa’s home Tests Sri Lanka, Australia (Tests), Pakistan (T20Is), India (T20Is) and away tours to West Indies and Sri Lanka.

In women’s category, Nadine de Klerk and Sinalo Jafta received contract upgrades.

“The upgrade system will again be in place this year wherein the players performing and selected for South Africa during the 2020/21 season and who are not contracted can qualify for a National Contract upgrade,” the CSA release further stated.

CSA National contract list for men:

Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen.

CSA National contract for women: 

Women: Trisha Chetty, Nadine de Klerk, Mignon du Preez, Shabnim Ismail, Sinalo Jafta, Marizanne Kapp, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Lizelle Lee, Sune Luus, Tumi Sekhukhune, Chloe Tryon, Dane van Niekerk, Laura Wolvaardt. PTIK

Related Articles

Smith moves up to No.1 again

SA pacers at it again after de Kock ton

Nortje, Ngidi surge through West Indies

Nortje bags four in CSA 2020-21 awards

Nortje eager to get into the game after extended quarantine