Steyn signs for Kandy Tuskers in LPL

South African legendary fast bowler Dale Steyn has signed for Kandy Tuskers in the inaugural Lankan Premier League 2020.

No Indians in Dale Steyn's best XI

Steyn confirmed the deal on his official Twitter account saying, See you soon Sri Lanka. I’ll be joining up with my team Kandy Tuskers later this week Should be fun to see old friends and compete in some good cricket!”

Also Read - Khulna favourites for T20 Cup, says Anamul

Steyn is likely to miss the opening matches for Kandy due to quarantine in Sri Lanka. However, the team management is working on Steyn’s eligibility to play the earlier games.

“We will assess when he can start playing after he arrives. We’ll have to talk to the health authorities before we make a final call,” Tuskers coach Farveez Maharoof said.

Earlier, overseas players Chris Gayle, Liam Plunkett and Wahab Riaz pulled themselves out of the tournament from Kandy Tuskers squad. Later Pakistani pacer Sohail Tanvir, who came as a replacement, had to isolate from the squad after testing COVID-19 positive in Sri Lanka.

Steyn’s team’s squad includes Indian duo Munaf Patel and Irfan Pathan as well as two Afghans Rahmanullah Gurbaz and Naveen-ul-Haq. Zimbabwean veteran Brendan Taylor was called in as Gayle’s replacement.

Kandy Tuskers will meet Colombo Kings in the opening match on November 26.

Kandy Tuskers squad: Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Nuwan Pradeep, Seekkuge Prasanna, Asela Gunaratne, Naveen-ul-Haq, Kamindu Mendis, Dilruwan Perera, Priyamal Perera, Kavishka Anjula, Lasith Embuldeniya, Lahiru Samarakoon, Nishan Madushka, Chamikara Edirisinghe, Ishan Jayaratne, Irfan Pathan, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Brendan Taylor, Munaf Patel, Dale Steyn

Related Articles

Gayle pulls out of LPL 2020

IPL 2020: Best Overseas XI of the Season

14-day quarantine is not an issue, if family is around: Irfan Pathan

Kulasekara to coach in LPL

IPL 2020: Gayle fined For breaching IPL Code Of Conduct