Stokes named PCA Players’ Player of the Year

England all-rounder Ben Stokes has achieved yet another award as he has been named the Professional Cricketers’ Association Players’ Player of the Year for his splendid performance in the ICC Cricket World Cup and the Ashes.

Stokes named PFA player of theyear
Ben Stokes had the best time of his career this summer without a shadow of a doubt. After playing a match-winning knock in the World Cup final against New Zealand, he went onto play a stunning knock to win a Test against Australia in the Ashes which will go down in the history as one of the best knock Test cricket has ever seen.

The English all-rounder became the  sixth player to have bagged the Young Player of the Year award and the Player of the Year recognition after Ryan Higgins, Dominic Sibley and Simon Harmer.

Also Read - Holding wants Bumrah to take care of his bowling action and run-up

After achieving the award, Stokes said:

“It’s hard to put it into words.  am over the moon that players think I am worthy of winning the PCA Players’ Player of the Year through performances this summer. You can take a lot of personal pride when you receive this award because it’s your peers that vote for you. Earning this award is a huge moment and something I am very gracious of and I am sure the previous 49 winners are gracious of too.”

“While this is an individual award, it is within a team sport so I am only in this position because of what other guys in our squad have achieved as well. What we have done as a team in 2019 is phenomenal, to win the World Cup and draw the Ashes has been a fantastic summer and something I am proud of personally and as a team.”

Meanwhile, Chris Woakes and Stuart Broad were also named the ODI and Test player of the year respectively.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Nasser compares ‘captain’ Stokes with Kohli

England announces Squad for first test, Moeen and Bairstow miss out

Curran in self-isolation, awaiting coronavirus test results

AB De Villiers picks his all time best IPL XI

Williamson reveals why he sent Guptill and Neesham in the super over