Styris picks his India squad for T20 World Cup 2020

The forthcoming T20 World Cup tournament will go all guns blazing in October this year. India haven’t won a single ICC trophy since 2013 Champions Trophy and Virat Kohli and his troops will be looking forward to a big challenge this time around.

Scott Styris and MS Dhoni
Scott Styris and MS Dhoni.

With the T20 World Cup just a few months away from the blistering pace, former New Zealand all-rounder Scott Styris has picked his Indian side for the upcoming T20I World Cup in Australia. Styris’ India squad for the tournament has two new surprises. He has picked Shubman Gill who is yet to make his debut in the T20I circuit.

One more surprise comes in the form of Sanju Samson in Scott Styris’ team. The wicketkeeper-batsman, who is currently a part of India squad has impressed the fans with his terrific IPL performances. Despite giving absolutely everything in domestic matches, it is sad to him warming the bench.

Also Read - Video: Steyn chants RCB slogan after a BBL match

Sanju Samson earned a call-up to India squad for the three-match T20I series against West Indies but unfortunately, he didn’t get the opportunity to play the game.

As far as the all-rounders are concerned, the former New Zealand player picked power-hitter Hardik Pandya and Ravindra Jadeja. Talking about the fast bowlers, Styris went for Jasprit Bumrah, Navdeep Saini and Deepak Chahar. India’s famous wrist-spin duo Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal have been picked by Styris as specialist spinners.

Here is Scott Styris’ India squad for T20 World Cup 2020:

Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya. Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, Sanju Samson, Ravindra Jadeja, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar.

Related Articles

Watch: Hazlewood didn’t take too kindly to Pujara’s gesture

Kevin Pietersen warns Team India ahead of England series

Fan teases Wasim Jaffer on Twitter; former cricketer gives an apt reply

Pant breaks Dhoni’s record to gain record rating points by an Indian wicketkeeper-batsman

ICC Test rankings: Labuschagne pips Kohli to take 3rd position among batsmen