Sylhet Sixers sign off BPL 2019 with a comprehensive win

Sylhet Sixers cruised to an easy win against Chittagong Viking as they beat them by 29 runs.

Chittagong Vikings vs Sylhet Sixers

This season of Bangladesh Premier League is well poised now and moving interestingly day by day in its second half. In the 40th match of the league, Chittagong Vikings took on Sylhet Sixers at Shere Bangla National Stadium, Dhaka.

Chittagong Vikings won the toss and elected to bowl first. After being put into bat first, Sylhet Sixers were off to a poor start as the opening batsman Afif Hossain and one down batsman Jason Roy returned to the pavilion in low scores and that resulted in 37/2 for them.

Also Read - Starc not an automatic choice for Ashes, says Mark Taylor

After two early wickets, Andre Fletcher and Sabbir Rahman had a good partnership that helped the team to build the innings. The opening batsman Andre Fletcher scored a blistering half-century and got dismissed on 66. Sabbir Rahman had a good start but failed to make it a big one as h was dismissed on 32.

Following them, Mohammad Nawaz had a good cameo, scoring 34 runs from 19 balls. Alas, Sylhet Sixers added 165 runs for the loss of 5 wickets in their allocated 20 overs and set a target of 166 for Chittagong Vikings. For Chittagong Vikings, Hardus Viljoen bagged four wickets.

In this moderate run chase, Chittagong Vikings were off to a disastrous start as both the openers were dismissed soon after the start of the run chase. Mohammad Ashraful went for a duck.

Skipper Mushfiqur Rahim played a fighting knock of 48 runs, but unfortunately, he lost his wicket for a run-out. Other than the skipper Yasir Ali scored 27 runs and Mosaddek Hossain scored 25 runs. But those contributions were not enough to win the match as they were bowled out for 136 runs.

That resulted in a 29 runs win for Sylhet Sixers. For Sylhet Sixers, Ebadat Hossain took four wickets while Wayne Parnell bagged tow to his name.

Brief Scores:

Sylhet Sixers: 165/5(20)
Andre Fletcher 66, Mohammad Nawaz 34
Hardus Viljoen 4/29, Nayeen Hasan 1/14

Chittagong Vikings: 136-all out (18.3)
Mushfiqur Rahim 48, Yasir Ali 27
Ebadat Hossain 4/17, Wayne Parnell 2/22

Related Articles

Watch: Fletcher pulls off 2 screamers in BBL 10

Bangla Tigers end the Super League stage with lose in Abu Dhabi T10

Fletcher, Rossouw bring another win for Bangla Tigers in Abu Dhabi T10

Fletcher star as Bangla Tigers win their second match in Abu Dhabi T10

Windies squad announced for Bangladesh T20Is