T20 WC 2021 trophy unveiled, India to host

The countdown for ICC T20 World Cup 2021 has begun as the trophy gets unvelied in Dubai in presence of BCCI President Sourav Ganguly.

India will host the seventh edition of Men’s T20 World Cup. The tournament will start on October 18 next year. The final will be played on November 12.

Also Read - Mujeeb Ur Rahman ties the knot

India hosted the previous Men’s T20 World Cup in 2016 which the West Indies won after a thrilling final against England. Earlier the seventh edition was slotted for Australia in 2020 but that got postponed due to COVID-19 pandemic. Australia will be hosts in 2022.

The tournament includes 16 teams- Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Ireland, Namibia, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Oman, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, South Africa, Sri Lanka and the West Indies.

Ganguly is looking forward to hosting a global tournament for the first time as a board president.

“It is a matter of great honour for us to be hosting the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. India has successfully staged several global events since the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup in 1987and I am sure cricketers from around the world would be excited at the prospect of playing in our cricket loving country,” Ganguly said.

“I have enjoyed being part of ICC events as a player and know from experience that nothing beats the buzzing atmosphere of a global cricket event with millions around the world watching every game. I now look forward to playing my part as an administrator as we prepare to host the prestigious event.”

Related Articles

Record-breaker Gurbaz, Rashid fire in Afghanistan’s win

Bangladesh seek more Test matches

Oman gets green signal to host Tests

Afghan board seeks ‘state medal’ for Rashid Khan

Kohli wins Cricketer of the Decade award