T20 World Cup Qualifier to be scrapped for 2021

The T20 World Cup Qualifier is set to be scrapped as qualifiers for the 2021 World Cup will come directly from regional finals.

ICC World T20
The ongoing T20 WorldCup Qualifier is most likely to be last as the International Cricket Council (ICC) is planning to scrap it from 2021.

The cricket world will witness two T20 World Cup in back to back years as it has replaced the Champions Trophy. As time is very less, ICC have decided to scrap the Qualifier round.

Also Read - Video: UAE fielder Shehzad pulls off a blinder

According to the current qualification system, some 60 countries first contested 12 sub-regional tournaments, the first of which was held in Buenos Aires in February of last year, with the top teams progressing to five regional finals, from which seven teams went through to the global tournament to join hosts UAE together with the four qualifiers from the previous WT20 in 2016, with Nigeria coming in as replacements for suspended Zimbabwe.

In the end, Six sides won through to claim their berths at the 2020 World Cup over the last week, with Ireland and Papua New Guinea winning their respective groups, the Netherlands and Namibia the qualifying quarter-finals, and Scotland and Oman claiming the final spots in the eliminator playoffs yesterday.

However, in the proposed qualification system for 2021, those six sides will have a chance to secure their berths at the 2021 World Cup by winning through to the Super 12s stage at the 2020 edition. It means that, the six teams will join Sri Lanka and Bangladesh in a preliminary qualifying round split across two groups, with the top two from each joining the top eight teams in the Super 12s and guaranteeing qualification for 2021, with the remaining four dropping back to regional qualification.

In effect, the system also guarantees the eight full member sides already in the Super 12s exemption from any form of qualification for 2021, with only four qualification spots on offer for 2021.

Related Articles

Kohli hits out at ICC for new WTC point system

LPL 2020: An attempt of match-fixing reported to ICC

New Zealand’s Greg Barclay elected as ICC chairman

ICC releases categories and nominees for ICC Awards of the Decade

Three ‘Super’ approaches failed in international cricket