Tamim, Kamrul script Barishal’s first win

Skipper Tamim Iqbal has led Fortune Barishal to their first win in Bangabandhu T20 Cup 2020. Barishal handed Minister Group Rajshahi a five-wicket defeat at Shere Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Mirpur.

In a clash between two of the on-paper weakest teams of the tournament, Tamim’s half-century helped Barishal gain the first points after a heartbreaking loss to Gemcon Khulna in their first game.

Also Read - Manoj Tiwary takes a swipe at Kohli for lack of clarity on Rohit's selection

Tamim made unbeaten 77 runs from 61 balls, hitting 10 fours and 2 sixes. Parvez Hossain Emon supported his captain with a quickfire 17-ball 23 in Barishal’s chase of 133 runs. Parvez and Tamim smacked Mahedi Hasan for 23 in the fifth over. Mahedi then returned with the wicket of Parvez.

Mehidy Hasan Miraz was given another chance in the opening position but he fell for 1 while upper cutting a delivery off Ebadat Hossain straight to the third-man’s throat in the second over.

Barishal had hiccups with the middle order failing to deliver but Tamim made sure his team win with an over to go. The ending was dramatic as Mahidul Islam Ankon scored a boundary with an overthrow.

Rajshahi put on a scanty total of 132/9 after losing the toss. Abu Jayed Chowdhury Rahi picked the wicket of the opposition captain Najmul Hossain Shanto (24 off 19) after the powerplay.

Barishal triggered a middle-order collapse, reducing Rajshahi to 63/5 from 48/1. Mohammad Ashraful (6) fell in a mix-up that ended in a disappointing run out. Nurul Hasan Sohan departed for a silver duck off Kamrul Islam Rabbi.

Mahedi Hasan took hold of the situation with Fazle Mahmud Rabbi (31 off 32) providing the support in a 65-run partnership for the sixth wicket. Mahedi slammed three sixes for his 34 runs from 23 balls.

Kamrul was the pick of the Barishal bowlers as he bagged 4 wickets for 21 runs, including three in the last over. Miraz bowled an economical spell of 2/18 in four overs keeping the ghosts of four sixes in Khulna match aside. Taskin Ahmed was impressive for his 1/19.

Brief scores:

Minister Group Rajshahi 132/9 in 20 overs (Mahedi 34, Fazle 31; Kamrul 4/21, Miraz 2/18)

Fortune Barishal 136/5 in 19 overs (Tamim 77*, Parvez 27; Mukidul 2/27, Ebadat 1/19)

Fortune Barishal won by 5 wickets 

Man of the Match: Tamim Iqbal

Related Articles

‘Have faith’ – A lesson from the Fizz to Shoriful

Bangabandhu T20 Cup 2020: Our best XI

Bangabandhu T20 Cup 2020: Awards list

Riyad takes Khulna to Bangabandhu T20 Cup title

Chattogram send Khulna to bat in final