Shakib, Tamim back in ODI squad against Windies

Bangladesh Cricket Board has announced 16-man Bangladesh squad for three ODIs against Windies. [নিউজটি বাংলায় পড়ুনঃ ফিরলেন তামিম, বাদ পড়লেন শান্ত,রাব্বি]

Bangladesh players pose with trophy
Bangladesh players pose with trophy


Star players Shakib Al Hasan and Tamim Iqbal have returned to ODI squad after recovering from injuries. They were not in the squad when Bangladesh took on Zimbabwe at home this year. The duo had to leave in the middle of Asia Cup tournament in UAE.

Shakib returned to cricket during the Test series against Windies which Tigers comprehensively won by 2-0 under his captaincy. Opener Tamim was expected to return in Tests after recovering from wrist injury but that was not to be because of side strain injury. Although he will be playing warm-up one-dayer for BCB XI against Windies at BKSP on Thursday.

Also Read - Highlighted facts and figures of Bangladesh versus Windies 2nd Test

Tamim Iqbal had a chat with experts during 2nd Test
Tamim Iqbal had a chat with experts during 2nd Test against Zimbabwe


The squad includes rookies Mohammad Saifuddin, Abu Hider Rony and Ariful Haque as well. Nazmul Islam Apu is the second left-arm spinner after Shakib. Mohammad Mithun has got his place retained too.

Soumya Sarkar and Imrul Kayes are top-order contentions for the hosts. Soumya hit 117 against Zimbabwe in Chattogram on his return to the side. Imrul amassed 349 runs including two hundreds during Zimbabwe series.

Fazle Mahmud Rabbi and Nazmul Hossain Shanto are only exclusions from the squad. Shanto could not click on when he was called for Asia Cup. He did not feature in Zimbabwe ODIs. Fazle scored ducks in his first two ODI matches.

The three-match series will kick off on 9th December in Dhaka. The second ODI will be on 11th at the home of cricket while Sylhet International Cricket Stadium will be hosting its first ODI when Bangladesh and Windies face-off on December 14.

Bangladesh had won 2-1 against Windies in the Caribbean this year.

Bangladesh squad: Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (captain), Shakib Al Hasan (vice-captain), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Soumya Sarkar, Liton Kumar Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nazmul Islam Apu, Mohammad Mithun, Mohammad Mithun, Abu Hider Rony, Ariful Haque

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Twitter erupts as Bangladesh chase down massive total

Superlative Shakib secure splendid win for Bangladesh

Bangladesh vs West Indies CWC 2019: Bangladesh aspire to get back to win

Fair enough to put us in underdog category: Holder

Russell to miss the clash against Bangladesh?