Tamim to play for Khulna Titans in the next edition of BPL

Bangladesh opener Tamim Iqbal is going to play for the new franchise Khulna Titans in the 7th edition of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL). Tamim played for Comilla Victorians in the last two season of BPL. [নিউজটি বাংলায় পড়ুনঃ কুমিল্লা থেকে খুলনায় যাচ্ছেন তামিম!]

His recent franchise Comilla Victorians is the current champion of BPL. In the final of the last season, Tamim smashed a 141-run innings off just 61 balls to bring up the second BPL title for the Comilla Victorians. But things are not going well for Tamim with Comilla. That’s why he’s going to change his franchise for the next season.

For the first time in the history of BPL, there will be two seasons in a year. The 6th edition was held at the start of this year and the next edition will be held from December 5.

Also Read - Hyderabad pitch curator promises a sporting wicket in the IPL final

Tamim is the highest run-scorer in BPL after six seasons. He scored 1825 runs with the strike rate of 123.81 in 57 innings including 16 half-centuries and a century in the last season’s final against Dhaka Dynamites.

Bangladesh all-rounder Mahmudullah Riyad played as an icon cricketer for Khulna Titans recently in the previous three seasons. He had been the highest run-scorer in the history of BPL at the start of the last season. But he didn’t perform well in that season and eventually he stands at third now in the list of highest run-scorer. His franchise Khulna Titans also failed as they finished at the bottom of the table.

Tamim played for different franchise previously including Chittagong Kings, Chittagong Vikings, Duronto Rajshahi and Comilla Victorians. He had been pretty unlucky as he won the BPL title only for Comilla Victorians last season. On the other hand, Khulna Titans never win the BPL title. So, Khulna Titans will go for the title surely in the next season with the inclusion of Tamim.

Related Articles

From net bowler to player of the match

Explosive Dynamites remain at top

Live: Comilla Victorians to bowl first

“Hello Bangladesh! I am Steven Smith”

Full fixture of BPL-2019 announced