Teams confirmed for Commonwealth Games 2022

Six women’s teams will join hosts England as cricket returns to Commonwealth Games in Birmingham 2022.

Teams confirmed for Commonwealth Games 2022
Photo: Getty Images


Cricket is the first sport to announce qualifying teams. England had already qualified earlier as the home team. The other teams are Australia, India, Pakistan, New Zealand, South Africa and a country from West Indies. All seven teams have qualified through the T20I team rankings (as of April 1, 2021).

Also Read - IPL 2021: Andrew Tye discloses why he left Rajasthan Royals

A participation nation from the West Indies will be decided after a qualification tournament that will be held by January 31, 2022.

Cricket will be returning to Commonwealth Games after 24 years. South Africa men’s team had won the one-day tournament in Kuala Lumpur 1998. This time it will be T20 format.

The Games’ Federation President Dame Louise Martin has welcomed cricket to the event, “It is an exciting milestone to be announcing the first teams to qualify for the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games. Cricket is a sport that is synonymous with the Commonwealth and we are so excited to have it back in the Games for the first time since the men’s competition at Kuala Lumpur 1998. 

“The debut of women’s T20 cricket will be a historic moment for Commonwealth Sport and a wonderful showcase for women’s sport across the world. Congratulations to the teams that have now booked their spot to compete at the iconic Edgbaston Stadium for what I am certain will be an unforgettable tournament.”

The International Cricket Council chief executive Geoff Allardice has thanked the Commonwealth Games Federation for re-entering cricket.

“We are incredibly proud and excited to be part of Birmingham 2022 and it is a fantastic opportunity for us to continue to grow the women’s game globally.

“We are committed to maintaining the momentum that saw 86,174 fans packed into the Melbourne Cricket Ground for the final of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup last year and Birmingham 2022 gives us another global stage on which to showcase the women’s game.

“On behalf of the ICC and its Members, I thank the Commonwealth Games Federation for their support and look forward to seeing some superb cricket at Edgbaston,” he said.

The 2022 Birmingham Games will run from July 28 to August 8. 4,500 athletes from 72 countries and territories will take part in the competition.

Related Articles

Australian bowlers deny prior knowledge of ball tampering

Smith is not the right candidate to lead Australia again: Ian Chappell

Australia hopeful of vaccination before WI, Bangladesh tours

Test stars return, but Labuschagne misses out on WI tour

Cricket Australia open to new sandpapergate information