Tendulkar, Lara, Sehwag to feature in a new T20 tournament

Former legendary cricketers like Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara, and Muttiah Muralitharan are going to appear with bat and ball again for a new T20 tournament.

Tendulkar, Lara, Sehwag to feature in a new T20 tournament

With the arrival of the T20 format, there are many leagues arisen in the game in almost every major country that is playing the team. Some leagues are being played for some good causes as well as promoting the game.

Also Read - 'We’re going through a transition period' - Kagiso Rabada

One such a tournament is going to be launched in India from next year, aimed at promoting road safety, called the Road Safety World Series. According to ESPN Cricinfo, the first season of the tournament will be played in 2020 between February 2 and 16 in Mumbai and will feature the following teams: India Legends, Australia Legends, South Africa Legends, Sri Lanka Legends and West Indies Legends.

At the moment a total of 110 players – all retired – have confirmed their participation in the tournament, which would be based on the franchise model prevailing across domestic T20 leagues around the world. The list of players includes big names like Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara, Muttiah Muralitharan, Jacques Kallis, Brett Lee, and Shivnarine Chanderpaul.

For the first season of the tournament, only players from Test-playing nations are included. The organizers of the tournament have planned to conduct the league for ten consecutive years after getting approval from BCCI in 2018.


Related Articles

Talk on Dhoni’s batting putting pressure on CSK , says Brett Lee

Dean Jones’ wife releases an emotional statement

Brett Lee tried to give Dean Jones CPR after he suffered cardiac arrest

Starc targets to reach 100mph mark

Brett Lee names the favourites of IPL 2020