Test stars return, but Labuschagne misses out on WI tour

Australia have picked star-studded 23-man squad for ODI and T20I tour of West Indies.

Test stars return, but Labuschagne misses out on WI tour

The likes David Warner, Steve Smith, Josh Hazelwood and Mitchell Starc have returned to white-ball mix. They were not named in New Zealand T20Is when the Test side was supposed to be in South Africa, a series that was eventually postponed. Wicket-keeper Alex Carey and leg-spinner Mitchell Swepson also missed the New Zealand tour.

Also Read - No 'major' changes in the Playing Conditions on Bangladesh tour

Three leggies – Swepson, Adam Zampa and uncapped Tanveer Sangha – could make way to final 18-man squad.

Top-order batter Marnus Labuschagne misses out due to travel restrictions. Labuschagne is currently in the UK playing for Glamorgan in the County Championship. He can still make way to T20 World Cup with England domestic T20 Blast performances.

“Had we not been in the middle of a global pandemic Marnus would be on this tour as a well-established member and important part of the one-day side. It’s an unfortunate circumstance of the many challenges the world is facing right now,” selector Trevor Hohns said.

“As it stands, Marnus has the opportunity to continue in County Cricket and T20 games with Glamorgan as we head into the World Cup and home summer.”

Cameron Green, the pace-bowling all-rounder, will be unavailable as he decides to work on his bowling back home in the Western Australia.

Australia will play their first international match in the Caribbean in five years, on July 9 with the first of the five T20Is. The action will move to three ODIs which will carry 30 Cricket World Cup Super League points. All eight matches will be played across St Lucia and Barbados.

Australia’s latest performance reads 2-3 defeat to their Kiwi rivals. They will have more T20I action, as they are slated to visit Bangladesh for a possible five-T20I affair after the tour of Caribbean.

Australia preliminary squad: Aaron Finch (captain), Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Riley Meredith, Josh Philippe, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Tanveer Sangha, D’Arcy Short, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

West Indies vs Australia 2021:

1st T20I – July 9, Daren Sammy Stadium, St Lucia

2nd T20I – July 10, Daren Sammy Stadium, St Lucia

3rd T20I – July 12, Daren Sammy Stadium, St Lucia

4th T20I – July 14, Daren Sammy Stadium, St Lucia

5th T20I – July 16, Daren Sammy Stadium, St Lucia

1st ODI – July 20, Kensington Oval, Barbados

2nd ODI – July 22, Kensington Oval, Barbados

3rd ODI – July 24, Kensington Oval, Barbados

Related Articles

WTC Final: Finch questions use of three DRS per team

Top 8 International Teams and Their Highest Paid Cricketers

Hogg names his captaincy choice for Australia’s future limited-overs and Test team

Smith is not the right candidate to lead Australia again: Ian Chappell

Smith shows interest to captain Australia again