Tigress squad announced for Women’s Asia Cup

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) on Wednesday, announced the 15-player Bangladesh national women’s squad for the upcoming Women’s Asia Cup 2018 which is scheduled to be held in Malaysia. The team will depart for Malaysia on 1st June as the tournament will begin on June 2. Fixtures of Bangladesh womens cricket team in ICC WC Qualifier

Newly appointed captain of Bangladesh Women T20 team Salma Khatun will be leading the side in the six-team tournament. Previously, she was replaced with Jahanara Alam as skipper before the 2016 T20 World Cup and later on Rumana Ahmed was made captain for the ODI’s as well. But Salma  regained her captaincy status during Bangladesh’s tour of South Africa earlier in April.

Bangladesh women team’s performance in the previous series against the Proteas was very much disappointing as they lost all eight matches of the South Africa tour.

Also Read - England name squads for Scotland, Australia matches

To be noted,  Bangladesh begin their Asia Cup T20 campaign on Sunday (June 3) against Sri Lanka. Each of the six teams will play each other once in a round-robin format with the final set to take place on June 10 between the top-two sides in the points table.

Bangladesh T20I squad: Salma Khatun (captain), Nahida Akter, Rumana Ahmed, Panna Ghosh, Nigar Sultana, Lily Rani Biswas, Fargana Haque, Sanjida Islam, Khadaija Tul Kubra, Sharmin Sultana, Fahima Khatun, Jahanara Alam, Ayesha Rahman, Shamima Sultana and Jannatul Ferdous Sumona.

–Nazmus Sajid Chowdhury, Contributor, bdcrictime.com