Tom Latham to lead New Zealand in absence of their key players

With Kane Williamson is involved in the Indian Premier League currently for his franchise team Sunrisers Hyderabad, Tom Latham will lead New Zealand in the up and coming unofficial ODI series against Australia.

A large portion of the World Cup-bound players are busy playing in the Indian Premier League (IPL) and Ross Taylor signing a deal with Nottinghamshire, so New Zealand could name just five of the players for the warm-up matches against their Tasman rivals who will travel England with the World Cup squad.

Also Read - Dhoni fined for breaking the IPL's Code of Conduct against Rajasthan

Apart from Latham, the other World Cup bound players who are in the squad are — Henry Nicholls, Matt Henry, Jimmy Neesham and Tom Blundell.

New Zealand cricket has picked against recalling their players from the IPL to allow to the periphery players in front of the World Cup. Just a single player, Will Young will make his debut in the series. In the interim their rivals, Australia chose to get back to their players who are currently in India to play IPL for the three matches against New Zealand.

“It’s an exciting test in front of this group who I realize will savor the opportunity to take on the Australians at home,” selector Gavin Larsen said. “The matches will be a stern test and give quality preparation to those players headed for England and an incredible open door for the remainder of the squad to demonstrate their ability.”

Todd Astle will likewise play against Australia in Brisbane in the wake of passing up a World Cup spot to Ish Sodhi. In the interim, Doug Bracewell will likewise play in the warm-up matches as he searches for a World Cup spot on the off chance that any of the present players get injured.

The three matches will happen on May 5, 7 and 9 at Allan Border Field.


New Zealand squad:

Tom Latham (C), Tom Blundell (Wk), Henry Nicholls, Hamish Rutherford, Todd Astle, Jimmy Neesham, Hamish Bennett, Blair Tickner, George Worker  Doug Bracewell, Will Young, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell


Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

New Zealand announce squad for T20I series against India

Dominant India harvest 2-0 lead

A dead parrot drives Kiwi pacer in despair, ends up in high punishment!