Tom Moody picks current T20 XI and appoints Rohit as the skipper

Australian cricket coach and commentator Tom Moody has revealed his T20 XI, a team full of surprising pickings in a recent chat with renowned commentator and expert Harsha Bhogle on Cricbuzz. Notably, speedster Jofra Archer is the only English cricketer that made it into the squad.

Tom Moody picks current T20 XI and appoints Rohit as the skipper

Moody is regarded as one of the best coaches in IPL history. Formerly, he was the head coach at IPL franchise Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) for seven years. Ultimately, he guided them to the trophy in 2016 for the first time.

Also Read - BCB plans to start DPL at two venues outside Dhaka

The IPL star coach picked David Warner and Rohit Sharma for the opening position. He put emphasis on left-right combination as one of the primary reasons for this opening pair.

Unsurprisingly, the No. 3 position given to the best batsman across all formats of the game, Indian skipper Kohli. Following Kohli at No. 4 is AB de Villiers, another explosive batsman Moody took in his side.

Picking up the fifth batsman of his T20 XI he struggled himself with Jos Butler and Nicholas Pooran. Ultimately, he picked Nicholas Pooran to maintain the left-right combination in the middle order.

All rounder Andre Russel and his Caribbean colleague Sunil Narine occupied No. 6 and No. 7 position respectively. Meanwhile, Rashid Khan was the first choice as a spinner in Moody’s squad.

Moody is a big fan of Rashid, and he recalled the sweet memories in Sunrisers Hyderabad.

“I got a couple of our senior players including David Warner to face him [Rashid Khan] and within 20 minutes I realised we picked a gem. His level of competitiveness in that net scenario was to me ‘right this kid is ready to go’. He is not worried about who he is bowling to. He is delivering so consistently,” said Moody.

Jasprit Bumrah, Mitchell Starc and Archer were picked to complete the fast bowling department. Indian all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja was taken as the 12th man.

Here is Tom Moody’s current T20 XI:

David Warner, Rohit Sharma(Captain), Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Nicholas Pooran, Andre Russel, Sunil Narine, Mitchell Starc, Rashid Khan, Jasprit Bumrah, Jofra Archer, Ravindra Jadeja (12th man).

Related Articles

Imran Khan beats Virat Kohli in ICC poll

Shoaib Akhtar makes a shocking remark on AB de Villiers

Hogg names his Test XI of the decade

Harsha picks Stokes, Shakib in ODI XI of the decade

Sobers congratulates Kohli