Top teams and individual performers of BPL

Attacking cricket only way to success: MashrafeIt’s all set for the Bangladesh Premier league (BPL) to spread it’s excitement among the cricket lovers of the country. The fever is already on and seven teams who are going to fight for the title of fifth edition are ready for the battle cry. [বাংলায় পড়ুনঃ এক নজরে বিপিএলের পরিসংখ্যান]

Hype of the tournament gradually increasing as it’s getting closer to the beginning. Now let’s have look on some statistics from previous editions that may help you to win the battle of talk for your favorite team.

Highest match appearances: Expectedly Bangladeshi cricketers are leading this list. Mahmudullah Riyad and Sabbir Rahman are jointly at the top as they both played 51 matches.

Also Read - End of Ben Stokes' Ashes?

Enamul Haque Bijoy will find himself in the second place with 49 matches. With 48 matches, Shakib Al Hasan, Mominul Haque and Nasir Hossain are in the very next position.

Most matches as captain: The skipper of Bangladesh shorter format cricket Mashrafe Bin Mortaza and Mahmudullah Riyad are at the top with 45 matches.

Mushfiqur Rahim had lead his teams in BPL in 42 occasions and he acquires the next position of this list.

Highest run scorers: Till now three batsmen have touched the milestone of one-thousand runs. Mushfiqur Rahim has scored highest 1172 runs from 43 innings.

Mahmudullah has scored second highest 1088 runs from 47 innings and Tamim Iqbal scored 1028 runs from only 33 innings!

World best all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan is also very close to enter the thousand-run club with 971 runs.

Most Fifties: Tamim Iqbal has scored highest 12 fifties in Bangladesh Premier League.

Most Hundreds: The brand ambassador of T-20 cricket Chris Gayle has also enlightened the BPL. He has scored highest three tons in BPL.

Highest wicket-takers: 1) Shakib Al Hasan – 61 wickets 2) Keven Cooper – 60 wickets 3) Mosharraf Rubel – 47 wickets

Most Dismissals: Mushfiqur Rahim – 35 catches and 7 stumpings in total 42 dismissals. Kumar Sangakkara – 20 catches and 11 stumpings in total 31 dismissals.

Highest Total: Dhaka Gladiators – 217/4 vs Rangpur Riders on 5th February 2013.

Lowest Total: Khulna Titans 44/10 Vs Rangpur Riders in fourth edition.

Most Successful captain: It is a very obvious stat. Here is no need of obvious mention. Yes it’s Mashrafe Bin Mortaza who have won three title of the four edition of the Bangladesh Premier League. And his winning percentage is 66.66%!

Nader Chowdhury 

Related Articles

New domestic T20 league to be arranged with Premier League teams

Al-Amin Hossain accused of illegal bowling action

BCB longs to own production rights of next BPL

Tamim might face punishment for violating rules of contract

Gayle to play for Rangpur Riders in BPL 2018