Toss: Sri Lanka opt to bat first, Shoriful and Jayawickrama make debut

Sri Lanka have won the toss and opted to bat first against Bangladesh in the series decider at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Kandy.

Toss: Sri Lanka opt to bat first in series decider

Sri Lanka saw a draw finally in the last match on a batting paradise after 28 straight result Tests.

Also Read - Chennai back on top with comprehensive victory over Hyderabad

Bangladesh will take heart from batting displays in the first Test as they scored their sixth-highest total (541/7d). The head coach Russell Domingo has pressed on winning what could be Bangladesh’s only second away series win in their Test history.

From suffering four consecutive losses to South Africa and England, Sri Lanka have so far kept their promise to be a ‘hard team to beat’ in drawing last three Tests against West Indies and Bangladesh. They also showed some good batting in the last Test.

Both teams have a handed a Test cap to an uncapped player for the match. Pacer Shoriful Islam have made his debut after the inclusion in the Test squad for the first time in this series. He replaces another pacer Ebadot Hossain in the squad.

While Sri Lanka have added 22-year old spinner Praveen Jayawickrama in replace of another spinner Wanindu Hasaranga. And in replace of injured Lahiru Kumara, they have included offspin-bowling allrounder Ramesh Mendis.

The pitch is expected to be a more bowling friendly especially for the spinners after the dire draw in the last match on a pure batting wicket where there was no assistance for the bowlers.

Both teams will look look into win to win the series and wrap out the World Test Championship (WTC) on a good note as the match will close out the league stage of inaugural WTC. Sri Lanka have one win in the tournament while Bangladesh have none till now.

Playing XIs:

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Saif Hassan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mominul Haque (captain), Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das (wk), Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Abu Jayed Rahi, Shoriful Islam.

Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne (captain), Lahiru Thirimanne, Oshada Fernando, Pathum Nissanka, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Ramesh Mendis, Suranga Lakmal, Vishwa Fernando, Praveen Jayawickrama.

Related Articles

Bangladesh’s dropped catch sums up first session

Domingo reveals three ‘leading’ Test bowlers of Bangladesh

Quick runs hand Sri Lanka 107-run lead in first session

Our bowling attack will be pace dependent: Mominul

Domingo feels ‘unfortunate’ of not getting pace-friendly wickets