Twitter erupts as umpire failed to pick a massive no-ball before Gayle’s dismissal
Windies batsman Chris Gayle was given out in a ball that should have been a free hit as the umpire failed to pick a massive no-ball of Mitchell Starc.
At the moment Australia and Windies are playing their second game of their World Cup campaign. Australia batted first and put up a total of 288 in the scoreboard with a massive knock of 92 runs from Coulter-Nile and a half century from Steve Smith.
In reply Windies are going steadily in the chase. But they had an unfair decision from the umpire regarding the dismissal of their star batsman Chris Gayle. It was Mitchell Starc bowling to the left-handed batsman and he trapped Gayle for lbw and that made Gayle’s stay on the ground to the end.
But it was a huge no-ball from the left arm pacer right before the dismissal delivery and umpire Chris Gaffaney which could have been a free-hit. Before the dismissal, Chris Gayle was successful in two appeals for the decisions againt umpire and both of them were in the same over.
Now we are talking! The ball that @henrygayle got out should have been a free-hit ball.
— FlashScore Cricket Commentators (@FlashCric) June 6, 2019
— akshit jha (@akshitjha17) June 6, 2019
How has the umpire not spotted this? Given that Gayle was out next ball, this mistake might cost Windies the game here. Poor officiating, why the third umpire isn’t checking this anymore I have no idea #AUSvWI pic.twitter.com/F39nrcZLQp
— Ian Hewson (@maxihewson) June 6, 2019
— Lipsa Sharma (@Shristiiiiiiiii) June 6, 2019
As per fuckin umpire this is a legal delivery
Next ball Gayle out
— Sunil Singh (@Sunil_1984_) June 6, 2019
The umpire: You're out.
Chris Gayle: pic.twitter.com/6QpkayDRJI
— Betfred (@Betfred) June 6, 2019
It seemed umpire was in a hurry to send Chris Gayle back. Gayle went for DRS thrice and survived 2 of them and on the 3rd one he was given LBW on umpire's call. 1/2#CWC19 #AusVsWI pic.twitter.com/UNcCmgOM8J
— Vishal Chitara 🇮🇳 (@VishalChitara) June 6, 2019
Omg….! Why this umpire be so careless..
It's a noball before the wicket of Chris Gayle. Technically it should be a freehit.He was so unlucky today given out multiple times poor umpiring.Arnold and VB sir what you think of it. #staraikelungal #staraikelugal pic.twitter.com/vJbwM0OqRU
— anandha Kumar (@adayar333) June 6, 2019
— Jan Thys (@JanThys3) June 6, 2019
@henrygayle has been really unlucky to have lost his wicket to a 'free hit' delivery as the umpire missed a huge 'no ball' the previous delivery. Hope this doesn't hurt windies today. Lucky you Oz! #AUSvWI #CricketWorldCup pic.twitter.com/1ApOkeZi3d
— Mahesh Velusamy (@vmahesh81) June 6, 2019
Looks like Umpire has some personal grudge with Chris Gayle. Two ridiculous given Out. And Chris Gayle using those available reviews like a boss. #AUSvWI
— Nabeel (@nabeeelsh) June 6, 2019
— Dhavan Kadia (@dhaone110) June 6, 2019
Umpire failed to pick the big No Ball and Next ball Chris Gayle got out. It might have been free-hit if previous one was given No ball. That opens an interesting debate whether third umpire should check the previous ball too whenever batsman gets out… 🤔
— Broken Cricket (@BrokenCricket) June 6, 2019