Twitter hits out at BCCI for ignoring Mayank Agarwal

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Sunday announced the final Indian squads (T20Is, ODIs and Tests) for West Indies tour which starts from August 3 in Florida. As usual, the fans were not happy with the team selection as Mayank Agarwal was not included in the squad for the upcoming assignments.

Twitter hits out at BCCI for ignoring Mayank Agarwal
Mayank Agarwal in action.

Even now, fans couldn’t decode how the selection committee is taking such strange decisions in the meeting. It is cognisance of the fact that Mayank Agarwal was called in as a backup opener for KL Rahul during the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 when the latter sustained a niggle in back while trying to take a catch against England fixture.

Despite Agarwal’s inclusion, he was not given even a single chance to showcase his gameplay. Past is past. Now looking into the future, when Indian cricket fans expected BCCI to pick Mayank Agarwal for Caribbean tour, he was ignored after world cup call-up.

Also Read - Watch: Ravi Ashwin's weird bowling action

Mayank is a crunch run-getter in the domestic cricket. He was the leading run-scorer in the 2017–18 Ranji Trophy season, concluding the tournament on a good note with 1,160 runs. He scored 2141 runs in 2018 across all formats and in fact, it was the highest total by any batsman in an Indian domestic cricket season.

India’s tour of West Indies will start with a three-match T20I series on August 3 and then both teams will play three ODIs and two Test matches between August 8-30. It should be noted that the two Test matches will be part of the inaugural edition of the ICC World Test Championship.

India’s squad for three T20Is: Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma (VC), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (WK), Krunal Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Rahul Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini

India’s squad for three ODIs: Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma (VC), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kedar Jadhav, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Navdeep Saini

India’s squad for two Tests: Virat Kohli (C), Ajinkya Rahane (VC), Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul, C Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant (WK) Wriddhiman Saha (WK), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav


Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Dhawan suffers another injury scare

Dhoni talks about World Cup semi-final runout

ICC reveals fixing approaches during World Cup 2019

Neesham ready to take bribes to watch Australia-Pakistan Test

“It was a scary thing” – Kane Williamson on ICC World Cup Final 2019