Twitter reacts as New Zealand qualify to the final

New Zealand knock India out of the World Cup at the Old Trafford and qualify to the final for the second time in a row.

NZ knock India out
There were mixed emotions among the fans and finally the team that played best cricket won the match. Credit goes to New Zealand. They might not have batted well but they were spot on with their bowlers and won the match by 18 runs at Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester.

The game which was supposed to get over on July 9th didn’t happen as planned because rain played spoilsport. Thanks to reserve day as the match was dragged to the following day where the match continued from where it was left off. New Zealand managed to get 239/8 in their quota of overs.

Also Read - CWC 2019: Kiwis break billions of Indian fans' hearts

When Indian batsmen Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul came out with a hope to give a good start, New Zealand bowlers had other ideas, thanks to Matt Henry who removed both the batsmen in quick intervals. Meanwhile, Trent Boult got Virat Kohli’s wicket and India was under huge pressure to steady the ship.

Rishabh Pant and Hardik Pandya did managed to find some gaps and give the team a ray of hope but Mitchell Santner ruined the party and removed both of them. Well, when Ravindra Jadeja came out to bat, he looked positive from ball one and went about his business at a brisk pace and also scoring his 11th half-century at the need of the hour.

But unfotunately, he couldn’t manage to steer the team past the line as he got out on 77 runs. MS Dhoni who started quite slowly, dragged the game till the end but the end result tilted in Kiwis’ favour after Martin Guptill ran Dhoni out.

Here’s how Twitter reacted to the thrilling clash


Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

“I admire those bowlers” – Rabada on Bumrah and Archer

I am not mentally prepared to lead in Tests and T20Is: Shakib Al Hasan

Junaid breaks his silence on World Cup snub

ICC to decide World Cup qualifiers

Never asked umpire to cancel that four overthrow runs: Ben Stokes