UAE tournament to narrow down WC finals competitors

The 2019 ICC T20 World Cup qualifiers are fast approaching. The tournament will be held in the United Arab Emirates from 11 October to 3 November. Fourteen nations will compete for a berth in next year’s T20 World Cup in Australia.

The finalized schedule of the ICC T20 World Cup 2020 to be played in Australia has been officially revealed by the International Cricket Council. 

Cricket fans around the world will be debating which teams can win the T20 World Cup qualifiers. Fans can wager on their favorites team at and follow each game of the qualifiers.

Also Read - Gill earns maiden Test call-up; Rahul dropped

With the tournament beginning in just a few weeks’ time, here is a look at the teams set to compete in the UAE and beyond.

2019 ICC T20 World Cup Qualifiers

Fourteen teams will compete in the UAE this autumn. Eight teams from various regions around the globe will be on hand to play. Meanwhile, the T20I Championship 11th to 16th ranked teams who last played at the T20 World Cup will also play. Cricket fans can find the best bets for each tournament match and wager on their favorite teams throughout the event.

The UAE will compete due to being hosts of the qualifying tournament, but who will join them in the Middle East? Scotland, Netherlands, Hong Kong, Oman, and Ireland are the best ranked teams able to compete. Other teams featuring in the tournament include Papua New Guinea, Kenya, Namibia, Nigeria, Jersey, Singapore, Canada, and Bermuda who won regional qualifiers.

Canada and Bermuda are the most recent teams to qualify for the October tournament in the UAE. The two Norther American countries qualified in late August and inched their ways closer to the T20 World Cup.

How many teams will reach the T20 World Cup?

Ten teams have already qualified for the T20 World Cup in Australia. The Aussies reached the final round thanks to hosting the event. Meanwhile, nine other cricketing nations and traditional powerhouses will be on hand to bowl and bat in Australia.

There are six places up for grabs at the T20 World Cup with those being filled by the 14 teams playing in the UAE. In total, 16 teams will play at the T20 World Cup with 45 matches being played during the tournament.

The previous T20 World Cup was played in 2016 with the West Indies winning the tournament by defeating England in the final 161-155. The West Indies are the most successful T20 cricket team at the World Cup having collected two titles. Can they win a third down under?

Which team will win the 2020 ICC T20 World Cup?

The 2020 ICC T20 World Cup may be nearly a year away, but the odds-on possible tournament winners already favor the traditional powerhouses of cricket. Hosts Australia are sports books favorites currently at 7/2 to lift the T20 World Cup trophy. The Aussies will have home advantage although they have never won the T20 showpiece.

England, runners-up in 2016, has the third-best odds for the tournament. The English are 5/1 to win the T20 World Cup and claim a second trophy at the competition. Interestingly, reigning champions the West Indies, the most successful T20 team, have odds of 9/1. Sportsbooks have placed the West Indies as the sixth favourite down under.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.
Tweet 20

Related Articles

Bangladesh’s tournament all but over with 86-run thrashing by Australia

McGrath warns India ahead of Australia day-night Test

Warner wins big on return to scene of scandal

Temba Bavuma ruled out of third T20I against Australia

Hussey wants Stoinis in all three formats