Warner deserving winner of Australia’s top prize: Allan Border

As a result of his poor Ashes campaign, most people did not see this coming. But eventually, David Warner won Australian cricket’s top prize, the Allan Border Medal, for the third time beating Steve Smith by one vote.

Warner Allan Border
Warner had previously won the Allan Border medal in 2016 and 2017.

While it came as a surprise to the cricketing fraternity, with the decision being highly criticized, the man after whom the prize was named himself said the Australia opener is a deserving winner.

Allan Border, the former Australia skipper, said the left-hand batsman deserved to win the prize.

Also Read - Dale Steyn eyes T20 World Cup and new role in SA team

“There was a sense of surprise when the final name was read out,” Border told Fox Sports. But I think there were three or four very good contenders, with Smith and Cummins in particular, [Mitchell] Starc, even Nathan Lyon had a fantastic 12 months.

“But David Warner, with the way the votes [were], came out on top. Very close margin but I think a deserved winner,” he said.

While Warner received 194 votes, one more than teammate Steve Smith’s tally of 193 votes, Pat Cummins finished third on 185 votes.

But before terming Warner as a deserving winner, Border also had suggestions to reassess the voting system. Currently the vote count takes in the opinion of teammates, match officials and media.

“Maybe the voting system can be looked at. We’ve been going for 21 years, it’s probably time to have just a look at how the votes are put together and how it’s all combined over the three, four months of the game for that final winner. Maybe it is timely to have a bit of a look at that voting system,” said Border, who captained Australia in 93 Tests.

Related Articles

Clarke appointed officer in Order of Australia, thought it was April fool’s joke

If there is no World Cup, there should be no IPL: Allan Border

Cricket magic will be missing without crowds, says Virat Kohli

Khawaja disappointed after being snubbed off Australia’s central contract

Virat Kohli becomes fastest captain to score 11,000 international runs