Warner, Smith and Bancroft not invited in Cricket Australia awards

The banned trio David Warner, Steve Smith and Cameron Bancroft faces yet another humiliation as Cricket Australia (CA) not invited them to the Cricket Australia awards.

Warner-Smith not invited
CA awards, which is set to place on 11th February is a ceremony which takes place every year to honour Australia’s players’ achievements.

The Allan Border Medal is considered to be the most prestigious individual prize in Australian cricket. First awarded in 2000, the medal is named after former Australian captain Allan Border and recognises the most outstanding Australian cricketer of the past season as voted by his peers, the media and umpires.

However, the year 2018 has been a year to forget for Australia because of the humiliating ball-tampering scandal. Warner, Smith and Bancroft, who were the culprit behind the scandal have not been invited for the ceremony as they don’t meet the criterion.

Also Read - Australia rejects PCB's proposal to tour Pakistan in March-April

A CA spokesperson told the Sydney Herald Morning

“The eligibility rules for the Test, ODI and T20 International Players of the Year provide that where a player receives a suspension for a time period, rather than specific matches, the player is automatically disqualified from winning the award for any form of the game that the player played during the period of the suspension.”

“In the case of Steve, David and Cameron, they will be ineligible to be awarded Test, ODI or T20 International Player of the Year at this year’s Australian Cricket Awards,” he added.

There are two and a half months left for Smith-Warner’s ban to end while Bancroft’s 9-month has ended and he has already featured in few BBL games.

Related Articles

Cameron Bancroft makes impressive return

Nervous Bancroft’s return end in three balls

Bancroft’s ban ends, joins Perth Scorchers

Bancroft reveals shock reason for doing ball-tampering

Bancroft reveals his emotional letter