Warner, Smith return to Australia T20I Squad for Sri Lanka series

Cricket Australia named David Warner and Steve Smith in their squad for the three-match T20I series against Sri Lanka, starting October 27 at the Adelaide Oval.

Smith and Warner

The start batsman duo are expected to take major parts in the next year’s Twenty20 World Cup at home.

Also Read - Bangladesh coaching staff decline to travel to Pakistan

Warner and Smith who were banned for a year for their roles in a ball-tampering scandal, have rejoined their country’s Test, one-day and now T20I sides.

“We have looked to put a squad together that we think can take us through to that tournament,”

said national selector Trevor Hohns.

“The squad we have selected is quite role specific and we believe it gives us the flexibility to thrive in all match conditions,” he added.

Both cricketers featured for Australia in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 and later in the Ashes Tests. While Smith ruled with supremacy in the elite clash of Ashes, Warner experienced quite floppy run with the bat.

The opening match of the series will happen at the Adelaide Oval on Sunday with the second match in Brisbane three days later before the final game at Melbourne on November 1.

Australia T20I squad:

Aaron Finch (capt), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Billy Stanlake, Mitchell Starc, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Sri Lanka T20I squad:

Lasith Malinga (capt), Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Danushka Gunathilaka, Avishka Fernando, Niroshan Dickwella, Dasun Shanaka, Shehan Jayasuriya, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Oshada Fernando, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lakshan Sandakan, Nuwan Pradeep, Lahiru Kumara, Isuru Udana and Kasun Rajitha.

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Steve Smith raised another controversy in international cricket

Andrew Tye ruled out for up to four months due to elbow injury

Watch: Warner survives as bails deny a wicket for Sri Lanka

Incredible Warner steers Australia to sweep series against Sri Lanka

Sri Lankan four cricketers provided in-competition dope test