Watch: Amla walks back to pavilion after taking a successful DRS
South African right handed batsman Hashim Amla had a funny incident in the match against Sri Lanka as he was almost near the boundary line while his DRS was in proces and it resulted in a not out.
South Africa are having an unpleasant outing in ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 as they are out of the race to the playoffs. They took on Sri Lanka in a must win game for Lankans.
Proteas had complete dominance in the field and comfortably won the game by nine wickets. Hashim Amla and Faf du Plessis anchored the chase very well with unbeaten 96 and 80.
On his knock of 80, Hashim Amla survived a lbw decision through DRS. But the funnier side of is that the opening batsman almost crossed the boundary line out while his DRS was in process by the third umpire.
Amla was given out in the last ball of 31st over which was bowled by Jeevan Mendis. Amla was convinced with umpire’s decision but the captain asked him to refer DRS. In the DRS it showed there was no bat involved and Amla was on his way back to pavilion after seeing that.
But in the ball tracking view, it showed the ball was pitched outside the line. When the final decision came, Amla was just before the boundary line and he returned back to the field.