Chittagong Vikings win opener in a low scoring thriller

Chittagong Vikings have clinched their first victory in the opening match of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) against the defending champions Rangpur Riders.

Chittagong win opener

Skipper Mushfiqur Rahim elected to bowl first after winning the toss and Rangpur were in a spot of bother right from the word go. Opener Alex Hales departed for a golden duck while Mehedi Maruf lasted only 10 balls to score one run.

Mohammad Mithun also bagged a second-ball duck and South African fast bowler Robbie Frylinck was in fire as he grabbed all the first three wickets.

Also Read - Perera's monstrous knock goes in vain as New Zealand clinch series

The defending champions kept losing wickets and were 35 for 7 at one stage. Since then, Ravi Bopara (44) repaired the innings along with Sohag Gazi and somehow took Rangpur to 98 in their 20 overs.

In reply, Chittagong also didn’t start off well and lost 2 wickets with 19 runs on the board. Mohammad Ashraful managed to score only 3 runs before departing to Shafiul Islam.

Opener Mohammad Shahzad struck some boundaries before departing for 27 runs. The Chittagong Vikings captain kept hanging on at the crease, but after his dismissal, the match went down to the wire.

Needing 9 runs from the last 2 overs with three wickets in hand, Frylinck kept his nerves to take Chittagong over the line in the end.

Watch Ashraful’s batting moments here-

Brief score:

RR 98 (20 ov) | Bopara 44 | Frylinck 4/14
CV 101/7 (19.1 ov) | Shahzad 27 | Mortaza 2/24

RESULT: Chittagong Vikings won by 3 wickets

Like and Share the news if you liked it.

Related Articles

Wasim Jaffer reveals how he helped Soumya regain his confidence

ESPNcricinfo’s BPL team of the tournament

Watch: Tamim scores 22 runs in Andre Russell’s one over

Watch Comilla’s crazy celebration after winning their 2nd BPL title

Watch: Tamim Iqbal’s 141* run against Dhaka Dynamites