Comilla Victorians seize top spot on dramatic contest with Dynamites

In the 39th match of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL), Comilla Victorians defeated Dhaka Dynamites by a single run.

Live: Comilla bowl, Malinga in for Khulna

Banking upon the performance of local all-rounders, Comilla Victorians once again seized the top spot in the point table in a breathtaking last ball battle against Dhaka Dynamites. Victorians thus triumphantly defended a total as low as 127 against mighty batting line up of the opposition.

Saifuddin, calmed and prodigiously surpassed the strength and threat of powerful Andre Russell, against whom he (Saifuddin) defended 13 runs in final six balls.

Also Read - T20 WC 2020: World wants India vs Pakistan final, says ICC CEO

Russell, meanwhile, raised the expectation for the Dynamites hitting a wide six through long off in the penultimate delivery requiring the team to need six more in the last one when the West Indian hardy end off squirting a fine leg boundary, just to be finished one run behind the winning target. He was unbeaten at 30 off 23, the second best score for the team behind compatriot Kieron Pollard.

Off to chasing a paltry total, Dhaka Dynamites were hit off shore by Mahedi Hasan who made successive breakthroughs  in consecutive overs removing Tharanga and Mizanur.

By the end of the sixth over, Dynamites were four down. A slight resurrection evaporated in the fifth wicket partnership between Sunil Narine and Kieron Pollard adding 42 runs.

Once Narine left out of the scene, the rest of the Dynamites were scattered apart except some blistering Andre Russell show at the business end of the match.

In the beginning of the proceeding, deciding to field first on winning the toss proved righteous for Dhaka Dynamites.

Rubel Hossain scalped four for 30 along with Sunil Narine and Shakib Al Hasan taking two wickets each restricted Comilla Victorians to mere 127 at the end of the 20th over.

For the Victorians, Tamim Iqbal strike highest 38.

Brief Score:

Comilla Victorians 127/10 (20 overs)

Tamim Iqbal 38, Mahedi Hasan 20

Rubel Hossain 4/30, Shakib Al Hasan 2/23, Sunil Narine 2/25

Dhaka Dynamites 126/9 (20 overs)

Kieron Pollard 34, Andre Russell 30*, Sunil Narine 22

Mohammad Saifuddin 4/22, Mahedi Hasan 2/22

Watch the winning moments here-

Result: Comilla Victorians won by 1 run.

Toss: Dhaka Dynamites

Man of the Match: Mohammad Saifuddin 


Related Articles

IPL 2020: Aakash Chopra picks best playing XI for KKR

Watch: Rashid Khan and Andre Russell shares a lighter moment after bails failed to fall

KKR to get Russell, Narine from beginning of IPL

Akash Chopra picks all time best CPL XI

Tom Moody picks current T20 XI and appoints Rohit as the skipper